Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Panetta concerned about North Korean threat

Thursday, 24 Jan, 2013 - 01:14

Jan. 24 - Defense Secretary Leon Panetta says the U.S. is prepared to deal with a ''provocative'' missile test from North Korea. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

North Korea announces that it will carry out more rocket launches and a nuclear test targeting the United States. It's a move raising concerns for Defense Secretary Leon Panetta. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. DEFENSE SECRETARY LEON PANETTA, SAYING: "We are very concerned with North Korea's continuing provocative behavior North Korea is not believed to have the technology to deliver a nuclear warhead capable of hitting the United States. However its December launch showed it had the capacity to deliver a rocket that could potentially put San Francisco in range. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. DEFENSE SECRETARY LEON PANETTA, SAYING: "The United States is--, we are fully prepared, we remain prepared to deal with any kind of provocations from the North Koreans. But I hope in the end that they determine that it is better to make a choice to become part of the international family." North Korea's announcement came after the U.N. agreed to a U.S.-backed resolution to censure and sanction North Korea for its rocket launch in December that breached U.N. rules.

Panetta concerned about North Korean threat

Thursday, 24 Jan, 2013 - 01:14

Editors' Picks »

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)