Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Clashes mark Egypt revolt's anniversary

Friday, January 25, 2013 - 01:05

Jan. 25 - Hundreds clash with police in Cairo on the second anniversary of the Egyptian uprising. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Egyptian police lob a tear gas canister over a security barrier as youth retaliate with rocks. It's a violent start to the second anniversary of Egypt's uprising that toppled Hosni Mubarak and ushered in an Islamist-led government. By afternoon prayer time, thousands of opponents of President Mohamed Mursi and his Muslim Brotherhood allies had gathered in Tahrir Square -- there to revive the demands of a revolution that they say has been betrayed by the Islamists. The square was calm by daybreak, following early morning battles between police and protesters. But by mid-day, plumes of teargas fired by the police filled the air. Egypt's Health Ministry said 16 people had been wounded in the clashes so far. The anniversary will once again showcase the divide between Egypt's Islamists and their secular opponents.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Clashes mark Egypt revolt's anniversary

Friday, January 25, 2013 - 01:05

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)