Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

French, Malian forces take back Konna

Saturday, January 26, 2013 - 00:52

Jan. 26 - French and Malian forces recaptured the central town of Konna two weeks after it was seized by Islamist fighters. Deborah Gembara reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Konna -- a central and strategic Malian town is now free of rebel fighters --- say French forces. The scars of air strikes and days of fighting are evident. Burnt out cars are everywhere along with rubble. Many of the town's buildings are badly damaged --- at least those that are still standing --- some have been flattened almost completely. Konna figures prominently into the military intervention in Mali --- its capture by Islamist fighters just over two weeks ago prompted Mali's call for international help. French and Mali forces took Konna back and reportedly seized the airport in the rebel stronghold of Gao in northern Mali.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

French, Malian forces take back Konna

Saturday, January 26, 2013 - 00:52

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Hundreds of Batmen secure world record Hundreds of Batmen secure world record

Sun, 21 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Riding a bike "side-saddle" Riding a bike "side-saddle"

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:10)

Celebs speak up in Scottish independence debate Celebs speak up in Scottish independence...

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:29)

Flying a plane using power of the mind Flying a plane using power of the mind

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:55)

Philippines breeds its first baby penguin Philippines breeds its first baby penguin

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:18)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)