Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Seven killed in Mexico shooting

Sunday, January 27, 2013 - 01:06

Jan. 26 - Seven people were killed in a clash between rival armed groups in the Mexican state of Jalisco. Rough Cut (no reporter narration)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT - NO REPORTER NARRATION Seven people were killed in a clash between rival armed groups in the Mexican state of Jalisco on Friday (January 25). Authorities believe that the incident began when a pickup truck escorted by two men on motorcycles was ambushed by gunmen in another vehicle in the municipality of Magdalena. While evading the gunmen, the pickup truck is believed to have struck another vehicle, sending it plunging into a 20-meter (66 foot) gully and killing four people inside, local media reported. The driver of the pickup truck and the driver of one of the motorcycles were both found dead nearby. The second motorcycle driver was wounded and taken to a local hospital by authorities, where he remains in custody. Additionally, an unidentified man was shot and killed in the crossfire, and his wife and daughter were left wounded. Police recovered several weapons, including grenades, from the pickup truck, as well as helmets, bullet-proof vests and radios. Last month, Attorney General Jesus Murillo estimated that some 70,000 people had died in drug-related violence under former President Felipe Calderon. President Enrique Pena Nieto, who took office on December 1, has vowed to curb the violence and has called for the creation of a new militarized police force to take over duties patrolling Mexico's street from the military.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Seven killed in Mexico shooting

Sunday, January 27, 2013 - 01:06

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Thailand hosts the largest gathering of Santa's Elves Thailand hosts the largest gathering of...

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:54)

Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from trafficking Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from...

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (0:44)

Vintage cars roll through Pakistan Vintage cars roll through Pakistan

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (1:22)

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)