Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Clashes continue across Egypt

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 00:55

Jan. 29 - Violence between anti-government protesters and police continues in several Egyptian cities. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Thumbing their noses at the newly imposed curfew... anti-government protesters packed the streets of Ismailia after dark. The curfew, put in place on Sunday by President Mohamed Mursi to end days of clashes between police and demonstrators, has only fueled the demonstrators resolve. At the heart of the violence- claims by Mursi's opponents that he's betraying the two-year old revolution. Mursi's supporters meanwhile accuse the protesters of wanting to overthrow the country's first ever democratically elected leader. At least 52 people have been killed in the violence so far. Earlier in the day in Suez, during violent clashes between demonstrators and police, an attempted prison break. Although ultimately unsuccessful, the incident highlights how the chaos could be hijacked for other ends.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Clashes continue across Egypt

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 00:55

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)