Reuters - Video

Edition: U.S. | U.K. | IN | CN

Top News

Mourners place flowers outside burned-out nightclub

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 00:56

Jan. 28 - Mourners lay flowers outside the Kiss nightclub, whose burned-out interiors bear the scars of the horrific fire that left 231 people dead. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: Mourners gathered at the Kiss nightclub is Santa Maria on Monday to remember the 231 people who were killed when a fire ripped through the venue over the weekend. Many residents were visibly distraught as they placed floral offerings outside that nightclub which had turned into a makeshift memorial to those who lost their lives in the fire. The interior of the burnt-out nightclub bore that scars of the horrific and deadly fire. Brazilian police investigating the fire detained the owners of the club on Monday and two band members whose pyrotechnics show authorities say triggered the blaze as the focus turned to finding those responsible for the tragedy. No charges were filed against the four men, but prosecutors said they could be held for up to five days as police press them for clues as to how the fire early Sunday morning could have caused so many deaths.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Mourners place flowers outside burned-out nightclub

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 00:56

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Dateline Asia »

Asia markets toast ECB stimulus Asia markets toast ECB stimulus

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:42)

Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:18)

Netflix to push play in China Netflix to push play in China

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:41)

Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:05)

Behind the pretty face of K-pop Behind the pretty face of K-pop

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (2:09)

Record slowdown in China's economic growth Record slowdown in China's economic growth

Tue, 20 Jan, 2015 - (1:52)

North Korean defector changes his story North Korean defector changes his story

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:03)

China stocks hit by credit crackdown China stocks hit by credit crackdown

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:16)

Xiaomi smartphones look to go global Xiaomi smartphones look to go global

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:54)

Clamping down on China's toxic toys Clamping down on China's toxic toys

Fri, 16 Jan, 2015 - (1:11)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)