Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Blast at U.S. embassy in Turkey kills at least two

Friday, February 01, 2013 - 01:08

Feb. 1 - U.S. embassy bomber in Turkey said to be from illegal leftist group kills security guard and himself. Sunita Rappai reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A wounded person is rushed to an ambulance after a suicide bomb attack at the U.S. Embassy in Turkey's capital Ankara leaves a security guard and the attacker dead. Dozens of police - who were forced to create a pathway to get the injured through the crowds - cordoned off the area after the explosion at a side entrance. Provincial Governor Alaadin Yuksel told reporters that a suspected suicide bomber had detonated explosives. Television footage also showed a door blown out and masonry from the wall around it scattered in front. One witness said the blast was audible a mile away. No one has claimed responsibility for the explosion but Islamist radicals, far-left and far-right groups and Kurdish separatist militants have all carried out attacks in Turkey in the past. The main internal security threat comes from the separatist Kurdistan Workers Party or PKK whch has tended to focus its campaign largely on domestic targets.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Blast at U.S. embassy in Turkey kills at least two

Friday, February 01, 2013 - 01:08

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)