Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Protesters march to presidential palace in Cairo

Friday, February 01, 2013 - 01:15

Feb. 1 - Protesters march to the Egyptian Presidential Palace during demonstrations against President Mohamed Mursi. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: Opponents of President Mohamed Mursi marched to the presidential palace in Cairo on Friday, while thousands protested at Tahrir Square. The demonstrators are demanding Mursi's overthrow after the deadliest violence of his seven months in power. Protests marking the second anniversary of the uprising that toppled Hosni Mubarak have killed nearly 60 people since January 25, prompting the head of the army to warn this week that the state was on the verge of collapse. Mursi's supporters have clashed with protesters at the palace in the past, although his Muslim Brotherhood has kept its men off the streets in recent days. The protesters accuse Mursi of betraying the spirit of the revolution by concentrating too much power in his own hands and those of Muslim Brotherhood. The Brotherhood accuses the opposition of trying to overthrow the first democratically elected leader in Egypt's 7,000-year history.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Protesters march to presidential palace in Cairo

Friday, February 01, 2013 - 01:15

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Hundreds of Batmen secure world record Hundreds of Batmen secure world record

Sun, 21 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Riding a bike "side-saddle" Riding a bike "side-saddle"

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:10)

Celebs speak up in Scottish independence debate Celebs speak up in Scottish independence...

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:29)

Flying a plane using power of the mind Flying a plane using power of the mind

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:55)

Philippines breeds its first baby penguin Philippines breeds its first baby penguin

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:18)

Nowhere to hide for this horror film Nowhere to hide for this horror film

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (0:48)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)