Reuters - Video

Edition: U.S. | U.K. | IN | CN

Top News

Food aid stepped up in northern Mali

Tuesday, February 05, 2013 - 01:03

Feb. 5 - The World Food Programme says the delivery of food relief to the northern regions of Mali is back to normal, as the security situation improves. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Aid is prepared in central Mali, ready to be taken north to towns recently liberated by French and Malian troops. The World Food Programme (WFP) has stepped up deliveries to areas recaptured from Islamist fighters. This month alone they hope to ship almost 3,000 tons of food relief to Timbuktu and Gao. Billy Keita is in charge of the Mopti region. SOUNDBITE: WORLD FOOD PROGRAMME, HEAD FOR MOPTI REGION, BILLY KEITA, SAYING (French): "At the beginning of the bombing, around the 10th of January, the delivery to some areas was a bit affected. But from last week, with the stabilisation and recapture of the two regions, we resumed our regular deliveries." The food relief operation is expected to last until at least the end of the year. Most of Mali's key northern towns have now been reclaimed, as French airstrikes continue to target rebels camps.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Food aid stepped up in northern Mali

Tuesday, February 05, 2013 - 01:03

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Oddly Enough »

Robots dance in mass-games fashion Robots dance in mass-games fashion

Wed, 21 Jan, 2015 - (1:30)

India has most of the world's tigers India has most of the world's tigers

Wed, 21 Jan, 2015 - (1:22)

Cat saves abandoned baby Cat saves abandoned baby

Tue, 20 Jan, 2015 - (1:09)

Pope Francis - the musical Pope Francis - the musical

Sat, 17 Jan, 2015 - (1:35)

Google partners with auto suppliers on self-driving car Google partners with auto suppliers on...

Thu, 15 Jan, 2015 - (1:32)

Dateline Asia »

Asia markets toast ECB stimulus Asia markets toast ECB stimulus

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:42)

Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:18)

Netflix to push play in China Netflix to push play in China

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:41)

Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:05)

Behind the pretty face of K-pop Behind the pretty face of K-pop

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (2:09)

Record slowdown in China's economic growth Record slowdown in China's economic growth

Tue, 20 Jan, 2015 - (1:52)

North Korean defector changes his story North Korean defector changes his story

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:03)

China stocks hit by credit crackdown China stocks hit by credit crackdown

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:16)

Xiaomi smartphones look to go global Xiaomi smartphones look to go global

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:54)

Clamping down on China's toxic toys Clamping down on China's toxic toys

Fri, 16 Jan, 2015 - (1:11)

In China, a new a challenge to Apple In China, a new a challenge to Apple

Fri, 16 Jan, 2015 - (1:09)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)