Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Migrants take long way home in China for New Year

Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 00:56

Feb. 6 - Hundreds of thousands of Chinese migrant workers use motorbikes to head home for New Year as train tickets are costly and hard to come by. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Hundreds of thousands of migrant workers in China's Pearl River Delta are using motorbikes to go home for the holidays. It is expected that 140 million people in the region will head home for the Lunar New Year. With only 32 million cheap train tickets -- that means more people on the road. (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) MIGRANT WORKER, FENG GAIJIN, SAYING: "It's not because the train tickets are expensive, but it is because it's hard to buy them. The place where I work let us off late, so most of us have to travel home on motorcycles." Last year 400,000 people used their motorbikes for the long trip home-- double from the previous year. The 10-day-long Spring Festival holiday begins February 10.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Migrants take long way home in China for New Year

Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 00:56

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)