Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

CA pension funds claim $100s of mlns in S&P suit: Treasurer

Friday, February 08, 2013 - 01:39

Feb. 8 - California State Treasurer Bill Lockyer says it appears that business relationship between ratings agencies and clients could led to incorrect ratings that should have been monitored.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

California of course with one of several states that sued Standard and -- for fraud. You stay attorney general has said that that has cost the state billions what occurred in terms of the -- you ratings. How would California. Light to recover in the case and are there cost beyond those billions already mentioned -- AG. Well. I -- perspective of course it's funny we have sort of vote love hate relationship that. Ally on the rating agencies course is too many others and yet we. Can be critical. When we think their men it's steps. I'm not. Privy to the specifics. There. Evident here claim it does appear to be justice and observers. There word. Is this relationships. Between. The rating agencies. And their clients that. A cause them to. Incorrectly rape. Credit risk in ways ways that. Could and should have been fourteen and waited you know I theme that really as team member of the pension funds in the state of California they -- the two largest pension fund in the country. And as the trustee I think -- losses that were incurred there Ian. The funds' portfolios. And were part of the lawsuit. As well one and there in the hundreds and hundreds of millions of dollars the claims made.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

CA pension funds claim $100s of mlns in S&P suit: Treasurer

Friday, February 08, 2013 - 01:39

Top News »

Oddly Enough »

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Polo players ride yaks in popular event Polo players ride yaks in popular event

Tue, 23 Sep, 2014 - (1:27)

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)