Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

U.S. East Coast braces for blizzard

Friday, February 08, 2013 - 01:04

Feb. 8 - A powerful blizzard is predicted to hit the Northeast of the United States as residents and emergency workers get prepared. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The U.S. northeast braces for a possibly record-setting blizzard bearing down on the region. Emergency workers prepped for snow removal, with forecasters warning the wintery front could drop as much as two and a half feet of snow on some areas. Blizzard warnings were in effect from New Jersey through southern Maine, with Boston expected to bear the heaviest blow from the massive storm. In Waltham, Massachusetts, a flurry of shoppers bought anti-freeze and shovels to battle the wintery onslaught. The day was expected to begin with light snow, with winds picking up and snow getting much heavier by the afternoon. More than 2,200 flights have already been cancelled by airlines on Friday and another 500 on Saturday. Officials urged residents to stay home, but warned of possible power outages and called upon residents to look after elderly neighbours.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

U.S. East Coast braces for blizzard

Friday, February 08, 2013 - 01:04

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)