Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

U.S. Northeast hit by major snowstorm

Saturday, February 09, 2013 - 00:46

Feb. 9 - U.S. declares state of emergency in some areas hit by massive snowstorm in the Northeast. Jessica Gray reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Snow ploughs have their work cut out as Snowstorm Nemo continues to batter the U.S. Northeast. The storm dumped heavy snow from Michigan to Vermont on Friday before covering Canadian provinces. Blizzard conditions prompted five U.S. governors to declare a state of emergency in affected areas. Some even banned driving as roads became more treacherous. The conditions have caused many travellers to become stuck at airports. At New York's Laguardia Airport, staff set up temporary beds after thousands of flights were cancelled. Forecasters predict some cities, including Boston, could be in for to two feet of snow and 60-mile-an-hour winds.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

U.S. Northeast hit by major snowstorm

Saturday, February 09, 2013 - 00:46

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

6:32am GMT - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)