Reuters - Video

Edition: U.S. | U.K. | IN | CN

Top News

Amputee recounts life under sharia law in Mali

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 00:56

Feb. 12 - Recently liberated from Islamist control in Mali, an amputee in Gao talks about a harsh form of justice under sharia law. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Just two weeks after French and Malian troops took back towns in the North of Mali -- residents in Gao still live in fear. For ten months under Islamist rule they were forced to live under Sharia law. Those suspected of crimes like stealing -- faced a harsh form of justice. (SOUNDBITE) (French) AMPUTEE, ALZUMA ISSA, SAYING: "They brought me to Independence Place. That's the place for sharia. It's there that they cut off my hand. Without a shot, without an injection, they tied up my two feet and my two hands, that's how they cut me. I panicked." Over the weekend, Islamists launched a surprise attack on the town, a reminder that while the threat may have moved on -- it has not gone away. For some -- the legacy of Islamist rule -- is something they will remember every day.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Amputee recounts life under sharia law in Mali

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 00:56

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Sports And Leisure »

Mourinho's "Let's go to Wembley" Mourinho's "Let's go to Wembley"

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:16)

Diver Daley trains in Rio Diver Daley trains in Rio

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (0:55)

Drogba on his Chelsea hopes Drogba on his Chelsea hopes

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (0:52)

NBA legend shoots from the hip NBA legend shoots from the hip

Wed, 14 Jan, 2015 - (1:13)

Tennis ace Murray proposes to girlfriend Tennis ace Murray proposes to girlfriend

Thu, 27 Nov, 2014 - (0:41)

Sports Spread: Tinkering Liverpool target Chelsea Sports Spread: Tinkering Liverpool target...

Thu, 06 Nov, 2014 - (11:18)

Flying car prototype takes to the skies Flying car prototype takes to the skies

Wed, 29 Oct, 2014 - (2:18)

Dateline Asia »

Samsung sees profits slide Samsung sees profits slide

Thu, 29 Jan, 2015 - (0:57)

Chinese firms on overseas shopping sprees Chinese firms on overseas shopping sprees

Thu, 29 Jan, 2015 - (2:28)

iPhone grabs top spot in China iPhone grabs top spot in China

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:40)

Robot replacements for Foxconn's workers Robot replacements for Foxconn's workers

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:12)

Alibaba could set sights on Yahoo Alibaba could set sights on Yahoo

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (1:24)

Fashion designers finding haste makes waste Fashion designers finding haste makes waste

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (2:07)

Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (1:33)

Asia markets shrug at Greek elections Asia markets shrug at Greek elections

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (1:36)

Asia markets toast ECB stimulus Asia markets toast ECB stimulus

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:42)

Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:18)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)