Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Amputee recounts life under sharia law in Mali

Tuesday, 12 Feb, 2013 - 00:56

Feb. 12 - Recently liberated from Islamist control in Mali, an amputee in Gao talks about a harsh form of justice under sharia law. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Just two weeks after French and Malian troops took back towns in the North of Mali -- residents in Gao still live in fear. For ten months under Islamist rule they were forced to live under Sharia law. Those suspected of crimes like stealing -- faced a harsh form of justice. (SOUNDBITE) (French) AMPUTEE, ALZUMA ISSA, SAYING: "They brought me to Independence Place. That's the place for sharia. It's there that they cut off my hand. Without a shot, without an injection, they tied up my two feet and my two hands, that's how they cut me. I panicked." Over the weekend, Islamists launched a surprise attack on the town, a reminder that while the threat may have moved on -- it has not gone away. For some -- the legacy of Islamist rule -- is something they will remember every day.

Amputee recounts life under sharia law in Mali

Tuesday, 12 Feb, 2013 - 00:56

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Holy cow, get me outta here! Holy cow, get me outta here!

Tue, 09 Sep, 2014 - (0:21)

Enough tacos to feed a village Enough tacos to feed a village

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

This is one very large order of beer This is one very large order of beer

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (1:24)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)