Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

India Minister visits blast site

Friday, February 22, 2013 - 01:37

Feb. 22 - India minister says government was warned of a security threat before the Hyderabad blast, adding the death toll has risen to 14. Sarah Toms reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: THIS EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL India's Interior Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde visits the devastated sites of two near simultaneous bombs in the southern city of Hyderabad. SOUNDBITE: INDIA'S INTERIOR MINISTER, SUSHIL KUMAR SHINDE, SAYING: "The total dead are 14 and total injured is 119 out of this six are critical." The bombs were planted on bicycles near a crowded fruit market in a busy shopping district at the height of evening rush hour. There were chaotic scenes as investigators with sniffer dogs hunted for remains of the explosive devices, swarmed by onlookers. SOUNDBITE: (Hindi) MOHAMMAD ASHRAF, HYDERABAD RESIDENT, SAYING: "It is wrong to spread terror in such a crowded environment. Everybody has a mother or a son here. Everybody can see that. I myself saw the blood here yesterday. I felt very sad. Whatever happened here, it was extremely wrong." The government had received intelligence about possible attacks but no specific information as to where or when they might occur. No group has admitted carrying out the blast. It the first major attack in India since a bombing outside Delhi's High Court killed 13 people in 2011 .

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

India Minister visits blast site

Friday, February 22, 2013 - 01:37

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

6:32am GMT - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)