Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

MOST POPULAR

Pope gives last Sunday address

Sunday, 24 Feb, 2013 - 00:53

Feb. 24 - Pope Benedict gives his last Sunday address to thousands gathered in St. Peter's Square in Vatican City as he prepares to leave his post this week. Jessica Gray reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Crowds cheer for Pope Benedict during his last Sunday address before he steps down this week. Speaking in Italian, he told Catholics gathered in St. Peter's Square in Vatican City that he was not abandoning the Roman Catholic Church. Instead, he would continue to follow God's will and concentrate further on prayer and meditation. Benedict is the first pope to leave his post in 600 years. Under his reign, the church has been beset by corruption and child sexual abuse scandals. Many also say the pope lacked the charisma and power to unify of his predecessor Pope John Paul II. The papacy will become vacant on Thursday evening as cardinals around the world prepare their to elect a new leader from amongst their ranks.

Pope gives last Sunday address

Sunday, 24 Feb, 2013 - 00:53

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)