Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Colombian officials uncover cocaine shipment hidden in fake limes

Saturday, August 31, 2013 - 00:49

Aug. 30 - Colombian authorities halt Europe-bound shipment of cocaine hidden inside false fruit. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: Colombian authorities on Thursday confiscated a shipment of cocaine carefully camouflaged inside boxes of limes bound for Europe. The narcotics division of Colombia's national police uncovered more than 1 ton of cocaine hidden inside fake plastic limes mixed into boxes of fresh limes. The contraband was seized in the Caribbean port of Cartagena on a ship bound for Antwerp, Belgium, where authorities estimate the drugs could bring in an estimated 45 million euros. The cocaine was discovered in more than 1,400 boxes of fruit labeled "Tahiti Limes," where plastic balls containing bags of drugs were sealed with transparent tape. The shipment of limes slated for export originated in Colombia's Valle del Cauca department.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Colombian officials uncover cocaine shipment hidden in fake limes

Saturday, August 31, 2013 - 00:49

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Oddly Enough »

Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:59)

Horse rescued from swimming pool Horse rescued from swimming pool

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:30)

Surfing in a different sort of costume Surfing in a different sort of costume

Mon, 27 Oct, 2014 - (1:10)

Skateboards get rock star makeovers Skateboards get rock star makeovers

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

White lion cubs unveiled to the public White lion cubs unveiled to the public

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:01)

Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)