Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Tensions rise as Russian convoy crosses into Ukraine

Friday, August 22, 2014 - 01:25

A Russian convoy of trucks apparently carrying humanitarian aid, has crossed the border into Ukraine, further raising tensions between Moscow and Kiev. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Almost as soon as the trucks began moving, accusations and warnings from both sides over the true nature of what Moscow calls an aid convoy, but Ukraine believes is a trojan horse being used to disguise an invasion of its territory. Ukraine government spokesman Valentyn Nalivaychenko says he's in no doubt about Russia;'s intentions. (SOUNDBITE) UKRAINIAN SECURITY SERVICE (SBU) CHIEF, VALENTYN NALIVAYCHENKO, SAYING: "It's a direct invasion with the cynical use of Red Cross. These are military vehicles. These are servicemen with fake documents. But Moscow maintains that the trucks are transporting much-needed humanitarian aid to Russian speaking residents of Ukraine cities beseiged by government forces. Russian Foreign Ministry spokesman Alexander Lukashevich is warning Kiev against any interference. SOUNDBITE) RUSSIAN FOREIGN MINISTRY SPOKESMAN, ALEXANDER LUKASHEVICH, SAYING: "We warn against any attempts to disrupt the purely humanitarian mission which was being prepared for a long time in full transparency and in coordination with the Ukrainian side and the International Committee of the Red Cross." But the Red Cross says it is not part of the convoy. It says plans to accompany the trucks were abandoned when authorities were unable to guarantee the safety of Red Cross staff. Kiev has stated that it won''t attack the convoy, but as the trucks approach their destination, the tension is rising.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Tensions rise as Russian convoy crosses into Ukraine

Friday, August 22, 2014 - 01:25

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

Oddly Enough »

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (3:43)