Reuters - Video

Edition: US | UK | IN | CN | JP

Video

New spy series 'Berlin Station' promises a wild ride

Monday, October 10, 2016 - 01:49

The espionage thriller series set in Germany's capital, debuts on premium cable channel Epix. Rough cut (no reporter narration)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: Fans of Jason Bourne and Ethan Hunt can get excited for a new espionage thriller set for the small screen. 'Berlin Station' debuts on premium cable channel Epix on Sunday (October 16) with a star-studded cast. Set in Germany's capital, it's a modern spy drama centered on a CIA analyst named Daniel Miller (Richard Armitage), who signs onto becoming a field agent in Berlin with the immediate task of uncovering a mole. "I was looking for something that was political and current and relevant. I wanted it to feel dynamic, I wanted it to be something that would appeal to somebody of my age group. I didn't want to be wearing a funny costume and I didn't want to be a superhero," lead actor Richard Armitage said, best known for roles in 'The Hobbit' films and the popular TV series 'Hannibal'. "So that was what attracted me to these characters and actually in a way they are kind of superheroes, because of the job they do, but they're very ordinary people." Armitage is cast alongside another versatile actor, industry veteran Richard Jenkins who plays Steven Frost, Berlin's station head. Jenkins, who's commanded starring roles on the big screen in 'Stepbrothers' and 'Eat Pray Love' is no stranger to television, with a recurring role on the acclaimed HBO series 'Six Feet Under'. Like the fifth season of the CIA drama 'Homeland', which was also set in Germany's capital, Berlin Station uses the city's graffiti-covered buildings and hedonistic nightclubs to paint an aesthetic that's gritty and raw. With a script by bestselling spy fiction author Olen Steinhauer and a well-endowed cast, 'Berlin Station' is Epix's shot at reaching the spotlight that's enjoyed by other premium cable channels such as HBO and Amazon Prime.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

New spy series 'Berlin Station' promises a wild ride

Monday, October 10, 2016 - 01:49