Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Five week streak for stocks

Friday, November 21, 2014 - 01:31

Stocks closed higher for the fifth week in a row, after China's central bank cut its benchmark interest rate. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

U.S. stocks cheering China's central bank rate cut and new asset purchases by Europe's central bank. The Dow, S&P 500 and Nasdaq - all up for the day. Arrows up for the week as well - setting up a fifth consecutive week of gains. Much of the markets driven Mergers and Acquisitions deals, which hit a 7-year high, mostly because of big deals in the oil and gas sector. It's not even Christmas yet, but stock markets got a big gift when the People's Bank of China surprised investors cutting one-year benchmark lending rates for the first time in more than two years. The bank is trying to breath new life into the world's second-biggest economy. Shares of miners, a proxy for an expected pickup in Chinese economic activity, were among the biggest gainers in the S&P 500. The rate cut in China came after European Central Bank head Mario Draghi said "excessively low" inflation had to be raised quickly by whatever means necessary. ECB said it started buying asset-backed securities to encourage banks to lend. Separately, the ECB dropped Citigroup from its experts' working group on foreign exchange, days after Citi got fined by U.S. and UK regulators for failing to stop traders from trying to manipulate the currency market. Citi shares, however, inched higher. GameStop slid after its quarterly revenue and profit came in well below analysts' estimates. European shares surged on China's rate cut and Draghi's comment.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Five week streak for stocks

Friday, November 21, 2014 - 01:31

Editors' Picks »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)