Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

Alfre Woodard likes "Annabelle" doll as a co-star

2:50pm BST - 01:28

Actress Alfre Woodard speaks about her experience working with a doll as her co-star in the horror film ''Annabelle''. Sara Hemrajani reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The black carpet was rolled out in Los Angeles on Monday (September 29) for the premiere of new horror movie "Annabelle". A prequel to the 2013 hit "The Conjuring", the supernatural thriller focuses on a young couple who find themselves terrorised by a haunted doll. "Annabelle" stars Oscar-nominated actress Alfre Woodard. She said working with a doll on set didn't feel much different to her other projects. SOUNDBITE: ALFRE WOODARD, ACTRESS, SAYING (English): "You know, it's like working with another actor. You know, when it was time for Annabelle the doll to be there, you know, we'd work a scene and we'd try to work around her and all of a sudden it was like, ok, get Annabelle, wake Annabelle up. And then the property department would go and get her and, you know, she was heavy, that was the thing." "Annabelle" is meant to be based on true events from the lives of two American paranormal investigators. The film's cast said the real-life inspiration made the story seem even spookier. SOUNDBITE: WARD HORTON, ACTOR, SAYING (English): "Does it make it scarier? Yeah it does. I mean, the fact that you can, that there are stories of this stuff actually happening. I mean, I can't say, going into this project, that I was a huge believer in conduits of evil and all this stuff actually exists but, when I got to set and this stuff started happening and reading The Demonologist and the books and stuff and the information that they gave us, you can't deny it." "Annabelle" opens in the United States on Friday, October 3.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Alfre Woodard likes "Annabelle" doll as a co-star

2:50pm BST - 01:28

Oddly Enough »

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Polo players ride yaks in popular event Polo players ride yaks in popular event

Tue, 23 Sep, 2014 - (1:27)

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)