Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

U.S. military trains Ebola rapid-response team

6:16pm BST - 00:59

U.S. military personnel in Texas train for a new Ebola rapid-response team that could be deployed to hospitals the next time an outbreak occurs. Vanessa Johnston reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

As health officials treat the latest U.S. case of Ebola in New York City... ... dozens of military personnel in Texas get training for a new Ebola rapid-response team. Major Rachel Park and her team members hope to be ready to deploy the next time an outbreak occurs. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. MILITARY EBOLA RAPID RESPONSE TEAM MAJOR RACHEL PARK SAYING: "Ebola is the enemy right now we are trying to battle, we're trying to get ahead of, so we need to learn the virus..." Wearing mandatory protective gear, the team at the Army's San Antonio Military Medical Center consists of five physicians, 20 nurses and five certified trainers. They will be sent to help hospitals dealing with Ebola patients upon request by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. So far, they have not been called to New York City.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

U.S. military trains Ebola rapid-response team

6:16pm BST - 00:59

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Oddly Enough »

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

White lion cubs unveiled to the public White lion cubs unveiled to the public

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:01)

Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (0:34)

New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

London's Frieze art fair tests your senses London's Frieze art fair tests your senses

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Paris streets become gallery for Plato-inspired sculptures Paris streets become gallery for...

Wed, 15 Oct, 2014 - (1:21)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)