December 5, 2018 / 11:43 PM / 5 months ago

Cricket-India win toss, to bat first v Australia in Adelaide

ADELAIDE, Dec 5 (Reuters) - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first in the series-opening test against Australia at Adelaide Oval on Thursday.

Tim Paine’s Australia face a scorching day in the field with temperatures to soar to 39 degrees Celsius.

Specialist batsman Rohit Sharma has been named in India’s 11, beating out all-rounder Hanuma Vihari.

Australia named their 11 on Wednesday, handing a debut to opener Marcus Harris and dropping vice-captain and all-rounder Mitchell Marsh in favour of specialist batsman Peter Handscomb.

Batsman Usman Khawaja takes his place in the side despite the arrest of his brother on charges of attempting to pervert the course of justice and forgery on Tuesday.

India are bidding for their first ever test series win in Australia. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team lost the last series Down Under 2-0 in 2014/15.


Australia - Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

India - Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

Rporting by Ian Ransom; Editing by Nick Mulvenney

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below