March 20, 2018 / 1:21 PM / a year ago

FACTBOX-Cricket-South Africa v Australia-third test

CAPE TOWN, March 20 (Reuters) - Following is a factbox on the third test match between South Africa and Australia, which starts on Thursday:


Newlands, Cape Town - Capacity: 25,000

One of cricket’s most picturesque venues, nestled in the shadow of Table Mountain, although the malty smells omitted by the next door brewery spoil the experience at times.

Cape Town is the grips of a drought which has seen club cricket in the city cancelled but Newlands have used their own groundwater to prepare the venue for the test.

Australia have won an astonishing 10 times in 13 tests against South Africa at Newlands, losing the other three.

South Africa barely have a winning record in Cape Town with 24 triumphs to 20 loses in 55 past tests. The other 11 were drawn.


March 22-26. Play starts at 1030 local time (0830 GMT)

SOUTH AFRICA (World ranking: second)

Squad - Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

Coach: Ottis Gibson

AUSTRALIA (World ranking: third)

Squad - Steve Smith (captain), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Coach: Darren Lehmann


Umpires: Richard Illingworth, Nigel Llong (both England)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (England)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


Previous South Africa v Australia tests at Newlands

Matches: 13

South Africa wins: 3

Australia wins: 10

1902 Australia 10 wickets

1921 Australia 10 wickets

1936 Australia an innings and 78 runs

1950 Australia eight wickets

1957 Australia an innings and 141 runs

1967 Australia six wickets

1970 South Africa 170 runs

1994 Australia nine wickets

2002 Australia four wickets

2006 Australia seven wickets

2009 South Africa an innings and 20 runs

2011 South Africa eight wickets

2014 Australia 245 runs


First test in Durban Australia won by 118 runs

Second test in Port Elizabeth South Africa won by six wickets

Remaining test:

Fourth test March 30-April 3 (1000) Wanderers, Johannesburg (Compiled By Mark Gleeson Editing by Christian Radnedge)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below