March 28, 2018 / 1:51 PM / a year ago

FACTBOX-Cricket-South Africa v Australia-fourth test

JOHANNESBURG, March 28 (Reuters) - Following is a factbox on the fourth test match between South Africa and Australia, which starts on Friday:


Wanderers, Johannesburg - Capacity: 27,000

At an altitude of some 1800m above sea level, the thin air has always ensured lively cricket and the intimidating atmosphere has given the venue the nickname ‘The Bullring’.

The stadium hosted the final of the 2003 Cricket World Cup and has also been used for rugby internationals and even a World Cup warm-up featuring Cristiano Ronaldo abd Portugal in 2010.

Australia have won all of their last five tests at the Wanderers, stretching back over two decades.

South Africa have hosted 38 tests at the ground since the first in 1956, winning 15, losing 12 and drawing 11.


March 30-April 3. Play starts at 1000 local time (0800 GMT)

SOUTH AFRICA (World ranking: second)

Squad - Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada. Coach: Ottis Gibson

AUSTRALIA (World ranking: third)

Squad - Tim Paine (captain), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Matthew Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.

Coach: Darren Lehmann


Umpires: Ian Gould, Nigel Llong (both England)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (England)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


Previous South Africa v Australia tests at the Wanderers

Matches: 11

South Africa wins: 3

Australia wins: 6

Draws: 2

1957 Match drawn

1958 Australia 10 wickets

1966 South Africa 233 runs

1967 Match drawn

1970 South Africa 307 runs

1994 South Africa 197 runs

1997 Australia innings and 196 runs

2002 Australia innings and 360 runs

2006 Australia 2 wickets

2009 Australia 162 runs

2011 Australia 2 wickets


First test Kingsmead, Durban Australia won by 118 runs

Second test St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth South Africa won by 6 wickets

Third test Newlands, Cape Town South Africa won by 322 runs (Compiled By Mark Gleeson Editing by Christian Radnedge)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below