March 14, 2014 / 7:02 AM / 5 years ago

FACTBOX-Cricket-Previous editions of the World Twenty20

March 14 (Reuters) - The fifth edition of cricket’s World Twenty20 will start in Bangladesh on Sunday.

Following is a factbox on the previous editions of the tournament:

- - -


Hosts: South Africa

Winner: India

Runner-up: Pakistan

Player of the tournament: Shahid Afridi, Pakistan

Highest run-getter: Matthew Hayden, Australia (265 runs)

Highest wicket-taker: Umar Gul, Pakistan (13 wickets)


Hosts: England

Winner: Pakistan

Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Player of the tournament: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sri Lanka

Highest run-getter: Dilshan (317 runs)

Highest wicket-taker: Gul (13 wickets)


Hosts: West Indies

Winner: England

Runner-up: Australia

Player of the tournament: Kevin Pietersen, England

Highest run-getter: Mahela Jayawardene, Sri Lanka (302 runs)

Highest wicket-taker: Dirk Nannes, Australia (14 wickets)


Hosts: Sri Lanka

Winner: West Indies

Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Player of the tournament: Shane Watson, Australia

Highest run-getter: Watson (249 runs)

Highest wicket-taker: Ajantha Mendis, Sri Lanka (15 wickets) (Compiled by Sudipto Ganguly; editing by Amlan Chakraborty)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below