March 5, 2019 / 6:01 PM / 8 months ago

EU set to widen tax haven blacklist, weighs UAE, Bermuda listing

BRUSSELS, March 5 (Reuters) - European Union states have added 10 jurisdictions to a draft tax haven blacklist, an EU official told Reuters on Tuesday, in a move that will triple the number of listed countries.

In a meeting on Wednesday, EU envoys are set to adopt the new list but are still considering whether to add the United Arab Emirates and the British territory of Bermuda to the blacklist, the official said.

Oman and Caribbean and Pacific islands will be added to the new list which currently includes five jurisdictions - Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago and the three United States’ territories of American Samoa, Guam, and the US Virgin Islands.

Reporting by Francesco Guarascio; editing by Foo Yun Chee

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below