January 5, 2019 / 4:53 AM / 8 months ago

Golf-Johnson penalised two shots for hitting wrong ball in Hawaii

Jan 4 (Reuters) - Defending champion Dustin Johnson said he did not blame a marshal for his role in incurring a two-stroke penalty for hitting the wrong ball at the Sentry Tournament of Champions on Friday.

Johnson pulled his tee shot into a penalty area, the new terminology used for a hazard under changes to golf’s rules implemented at the start of the year, at the par-four fourth during the second round at the Kapalua Plantation course on Maui.

The world number three was directed by a marshal towards a ball in the long tropical grass and a quick glance confirmed it had a logo of the brand he plays.

He then hacked the ball back into play, only to stumble upon his ball a few yards further on, in short rough.

“Obviously it was my fault,” Johnson told reporters.

“There was a ball right there, and it was a TaylorMade.

“I could see the logo on the side so obviously I just assumed it was mine.”

He double-bogeyed the hole, shot 74 and slipped seven strokes behind halfway leader Gary Woodland. (Reporting by Andrew Both in Cary, North Carolina; Editing by Peter Rutherford )

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below