Tennis News

FACTBOX-Tennis-The six men to win all four grand slam titles

 June 7 (Reuters) - A factbox on the six men to win all four
grand slam titles after Roger Federer won his first French Open
on Sunday to add his name to the list.
 Fred Perry (Britain)
 * Completed the clean sweep in 1935 at the French Open, his
fifth title, and went on to win eight in all.
 Don Budge (U.S.)
 * Perry's great rival of the 1930s, Budge took just three
years to emulate the Briton's multi-surface achievement, also at
the French Open.
 Rod Laver (Australia)
 * One of the true greats of the sport, he won the grand slam
(all four titles in one year) in 1962 and 1969.
 Roy Emerson (Australia)
 * Like Budge, Emerson did not wait long to emulate his rival
by clinching the 1964 Wimbledon title.
 Andre Agassi (U.S.)
 * Over thirty years passed before Agassi, in 1999, became
the fifth man to win all four.
 Roger Federer (Switzerland)
 * Federer could have joined the list as early as 2006, when
having won the other three grand slam titles he first appeared
in a French Open final. Also finished runner-up at Roland Garros
in 2007 and 2008.
 - - - -
 (Compiled by Tom Pilcher, Editing Ed Osmond)