November 21, 2018 / 9:22 AM / in 6 months

Motor racing-Statistics for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Nov 21 (Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s season-ending Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at the Yas Marina circuit:


Lap distance: 5.554km. Total distance: 305.355 km (55 laps)

2017 pole: Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes, one minute 36.231 seconds

2017 winner: Bottas

Race lap record: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull, 2009 1:40.279

Start time: 1310 GMT (1510 local)



Both the drivers’ and constructors’ titles have been decided, with Lewis Hamilton and his Mercedes team each winning their fifth.

Hamilton is only the third driver to win five titles, after the late Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio and seven times champion Michael Schumacher.

Mercedes are the second team after Ferrari (1999-2004) to win five drivers and constructors’ championships in a row.

The season will still rank as Mercedes’ least successful since 2013, since they can win a maximum of 11 races. They won 16 in 2014 and 2015, 19 in 2016 and 12 last year.



Ferrari have yet to win in Abu Dhabi, a circuit next door to Ferrari World theme park. Mercedes have won the last four editions of the race.

The sport’s first day-to-night race is in its 10th edition this year. Cars hit top speeds of 320kph with an average of around 195kph on an anti-clockwise layout.

Four of the current drivers have won in Abu Dhabi: Vettel (2009, 2010 and 2013), Hamilton (2011, 2014, 2016), Raikkonen (2012), Bottas (2017).

Four of nine races to date at Yas Marina have been won from pole position: Vettel in 2010, when he became the youngest champion at 23, Nico Rosberg in 2015, Hamilton in 2016 and Bottas last year.

Hamilton has been on pole three times in Abu Dhabi, Vettel twice.

Only once has the winner not started on the front row - Raikkonen from fourth in 2012 with Lotus.



Hamilton has 10 wins this season to Vettel’s five. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen have two each and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen one.

Sunday is Valtteri Bottas’s last chance to avoid a winless season in a championship-winning car. The last driver that happened to was Australian Mark Webber alongside Vettel at Red Bull in 2013.

Hamilton has 72 victories from 228 races and is second in the all-time list behind Schumacher (91). Vettel, third on the all-time list, has 52.

Ferrari have won 235 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 86 and Red Bull 59. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.



Hamilton has a record 82 career poles, Vettel 55.

Verstappen, who turned 21 at the end of September, has one more chance to become the youngest ever pole sitter. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at 21 years and 72 days.

Mercedes took their 100th pole position in Brazil.



Hamilton has 133 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 110, Raikkonen 103.

Bottas has had seven second-place finishes this season.



Every driver on the starting grid has scored this season.



Abu Dhabi will see a number of farewells.

Spain’s double world champion Fernando Alonso is leaving Formula One, to race with McLaren at Indianapolis and Toyota at Le Mans next year.

Belgian team mate Stoffel Vandoorne is leaving McLaren for Formula E.

Sunday will be Marcus Ericsson’s last race for Sauber.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo, joining Renault, says farewell to Red Bull - who say goodbye to Renault engines and welcome Honda in 2019. Spaniard Carlos Sainz bows out of Renault for McLaren.

Pierre Gasly wraps up his time at Toro Rosso before joining Red Bull. It is likely also to be Lance Stroll’s final race for Williams.

It will be Kimi Raikkonen’s farewell to Ferrari, and replacement Charles Leclerc’s send off from Sauber.



Ricciardo celebrates his 150th start this weekend. It will also be his 100th for Red Bull.

In Brazil, Mercedes became the fifth team in the history of Formula One to have led more than 5,000 laps.

Abu Dhabi will be the 100th race of the V6 turbo hybrid era that started in 2014. Hamilton has won 50 of them so far.

Sunday will be Fernando Alonso’s 311th and last grand prix. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Sudipto Ganguly)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below