June 5, 2019 / 10:12 AM / 8 months ago

Motor racing-Statistics for the Canadian Grand Prix

June 5 (Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s Canadian Formula One Grand Prix in Montreal, the seventh race of the season.


Lap distance: 4.361km. Total distance: 305.27km (70 laps)

2018 pole: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari

2018 winner: Vettel

Race lap record: One minute 13.622 seconds. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil), Ferrari, 2004.

Start time: 1810 GMT (1410 local)



This weekend will be the 50th Canadian Grand Prix, and 40th in Montreal.

Hamilton has won six times in Montreal (in 2007, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017), including the first of his career. Another victory will equal Michael Schumacher’s record of seven in Canada.

The Briton can also beat the record he currently shares with Schumacher of six poles in Montreal.

Daniel Ricciardo (2014), Kimi Raikkonen (2005) and Sebastian Vettel (2013, 2018) have also won in Canada. Ricciardo’s first win in F1 was in Montreal. Raikkonen shares the record for fastest laps in Canada (four) with Schumacher.

The circuit is named after late Ferrari great Gilles Villeneuve. Ferrari have won 12 times in Canada, with seven poles and nine fastest laps.

The rain-hit Canadian Grand Prix of 2011 was Formula One’s longest race, lasting four hours, four minutes and 39.537 seconds. The safety car was deployed six times, another record.

The circuit is particularly tough on brakes.

Racing Point are Canadian owned and have the only current Canadian F1 race driver in Lance Stroll.



Hamilton has 77 victories from 235 races and is closing the gap to Schumacher’s record 91. He has also won 55 of the 106 races in the V6 turbo hybrid era that started in 2014.

Vettel, third on the all-time list, has 52.

Ferrari have won 235 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 93 and Red Bull 59. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.



Hamilton has a record 85 career poles, Vettel 55.

Two of the six races so far this season have been won from pole - Bottas in Azerbaijan and Hamilton in Monaco.



Hamilton has 140 career podiums and needs to finish in the top three in every race this year to equal Schumacher’s record of 155. Vettel has 114.



Mercedes have won the first six races of the season, and the last eight in total.

The record for most successive wins by a team is 14, by Ferrari in 1952-53. McLaren won 11 in a row in 1988. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Sudipto Ganguly)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below