July 18, 2018 / 9:09 AM / 9 months ago

Motor racing-Formula One statistics for the German Grand Prix

July 18 (Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s German Formula One Grand Prix at Hockenheim:

Lap distance: 4.574km. Total distance: 306.458km (67 laps)

No race in 2017

2016 pole: Nico Rosberg (Germany), Mercedes. One minute, 14.363 seconds.

2016 winner: Lewis Hamilton (Britain), Mercedes

Race lap record: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland), McLaren 2004, 1:13.780

Start time: 1310 GMT (1510 local)


Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel has four wins so far this season. Reigning champion Lewis Hamilton has three, Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo two and Max Verstappen one.

Hamilton has 65 victories from 218 races and is second in the all-time list behind seven-times world champion Michael Schumacher (91). Vettel has 51, Ricciardo seven.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen has now gone 104 races since his last win, in Australia in 2013.

Ferrari have won 233 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 79 and Red Bull 58. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 76 career poles, Vettel 54.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, at 20 years old, can still become the youngest ever pole sitter this season. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at the age of 21 years and 72 days.

Verstappen’s birthday is on Sept. 30.


Hamilton has 124 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 105, Raikkonen 97.

Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas has had four second-place finishes in 10 races.


Vettel leads Hamilton by eight points.

Ferrari are 20 points ahead of Mercedes in the constructors’ championship.

Russian rookie Sergey Sirotkin (Williams) is the only driver yet to score a point this season.


The race faces an uncertain future, with Hockenheim out of contract after Sunday’s Grand Prix.

Sunday will be the 63rd German Grand Prix since 1950, and 36th at Hockenheim. The Nuerburgring has hosted the race 26 times (1951-2013), and Avus (1959) once.

Hamilton won most recently for Mercedes in 2016, with then team mate Nico Rosberg on pole. Ferrari have not won in Germany since Fernando Alonso in 2012.

Germany has two current drivers — Vettel and Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg — but is home to champions Mercedes.

Four German drivers have won the German Grand Prix since the championship started in 1950 — Michael and Ralf Schumacher, Vettel (2013) and Rosberg (2014).

Vettel has never won at Hockenheim, the circuit closest to his home town of Heppenheim.

Michael Schumacher won the German Grand Prix four times: once with Benetton and three times with Ferrari. Hamilton (2008, 2011 and 2016) and Fernando Alonso (2005, 2010 and 2012) are three-times winners of the race.

Six of 10 races since Hockenheim was redesigned in 2002 have been won from pole. Only once has the winner started off the front row (Alonso from third in 2005).


Mercedes can take their 80th grand prix win, making them fourth in the all-time standings. They are currently tied with Lotus.

Vettel’s victory in Silverstone was the 51st of his career, equalling the tally of French four times champion Alain Prost. Only Michael Schumacher and Hamilton have won more. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin; Editing by John O’Brien)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below