October 15, 2008 / 5:57 AM / 11 years ago

Motor racing-Formula One statistics for Chinese Grand Prix

Oct 15 (Reuters) - Some Formula One statistics for Sunday’s Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai:

- - - -


McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton has a five point lead in the championship and will become Formula One’s youngest champion at the age of 23 if he scores six points more than Ferrari’s Felipe Massa on Sunday.

Otherwise the title battle will go to the last race in Brazil, Massa’s home grand prix.

Poland’s Robert Kubica needs to score three points more than Hamilton while not allowing Massa to beat him by more than two points to stay in the reckoning.



Formula One has had seven different winners in 16 races so far this season. The last time Formula One had more than that was in 2003, when eight drivers won a race.

Alonso’s victory in Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix in Fuji was the 21st of his Formula One career, lifting the double world champion ahead of Finland’s Mika Hakkinen in the all-time lists and one behind Briton Damon Hill.

Only 10 drivers have won more races than the Spaniard.

Massa has won five races this season to Hamilton’s four.

Ferrari have won 208 races in total, McLaren 161 and Williams 113. Renault have 35 victories to their credit, taking them level with Brabham in fifth position in the all-time standings.



Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen can set a record in Shanghai for the most fastest laps in a single season.

His fastest lap in Singapore last month was his 10th of the year, equalling the record held jointly with now-retired Michael Schumacher.



BMW-Sauber are the only team to have scored in every race this season.

The team have also scored points in every race since the season-opening Australian Grand Prix of March 2007, a run of 33 successive races.

Alonso has scored more points than any driver in the last six races.

Force India’s Giancarlo Fisichella and Adrian Sutil are the only drivers yet to score a point in 2008 (not including Takuma Sato and Anthony Davidson with now-defunct Super Aguri).

Japan was McLaren’s second race this season without a point.



Ferrari have won three of the four Chinese Grands Prix to date. McLaren have never won in Shanghai.

Brazilian Rubens Barrichello, Raikkonen and Alonso are the only active drivers to have triumphed there.

The driver on pole position has failed to win the last two races in China.

Three of the four winners have started on the front row (Michael Schumacher for Ferrari in 2006 was the exception).

Alonso and Honda’s Jenson Button are the only current drivers to have scored points in every Chinese Grand Prix. Alonso has been on the podium three times and never finished lower than fourth.



Renault’s Alonso is the only driver to have out-qualified his team mate (Brazilian Nelson Piquet) in every race so far this season.

Reporting by Alan Baldwin; Editing by Greg Stutchbury

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below