July 29, 2008 / 8:32 AM / 11 years ago

Rocker Liz Phair serves up sloppy new album

Singer Liz Phair poses for photographers during red carpet arrivals at the Oxfam annual fundraiser in Beverly Hills, November 29, 2006. REUTERS/Gus Ruelas

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Although it’s still without a title or track listing, Liz Phair’s new album is in its final recording stages ahead of a fall release.

“This I can tell you: all my sloppiness is in there,” the rock singer/songwriter told Billboard. “I fought all the way through, and I’m not letting anyone take it to a perfected style.”

The album marks her first release of original material for Dave Matthews’ ATO Records, which recently reissued Phair’s 1993 debut, “Exile In Guyville,” with extra tracks and a DVD.

“It’s not going to be ‘(Exile in) Guyville’ again, but I’m using all my tools,” Phair added. “I keep pulling it out of producers’ hands, before they can do anything.”

Having split with Capitol earlier this year, Phair is finding that working with ATO is a breath of fresh air.

“They literally look at me and say, ‘Here’s your budget, don’t go over, bring us something good,’” she says. “It’s a f—-ing mind-bending experience after the last 14 years.”

Phair has been on the road performing “Exile In Guyville” in its entirety at a handful of shows. She has three “Guyville” gigs next month, and no plans yet for additional shows.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below