August 19, 2018 / 1:56 PM / 7 months ago

Rugby-South Africa name squad to travel to Argentina

CAPE TOWN, Aug 19 (Reuters) - South Africa have trimmed their squad by six and will take 28 players to Argentina, where the Springboks will face the Pumas in Mendoza in the Rugby Championship on Saturday.

Coach Rassie Erasmus sprung no surprises when the named the tour party on Sunday, one day after South Africa beat Argentina 34-21 in their opening match of the annual four-nations southern hemisphere competition.

Loose forwards Jean-Luc du Preez and Sikhumbuzo Notshe, lock Marvin Orie, Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Jesse Kriel (centre) and winger Lwazi Mvovo were all dropped while uncapped flanker Cyle Brink underwent surgery last week to repair damage suffered to his injured knee.


Forwards: Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi (all Stormers), Francois Louw (Bath), Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe (both Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Gloucester), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), RG Snyman (Bulls), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks), Marco van Staden (Bulls), Warren Whiteley (Lions)

Backs: Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Willie le Roux (Wasps), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Lions), Embrose Papier, Handré Pollard, Ivan van Zyl (all Bulls), Damian Willemse (Stormers). (Reporting by Mark Gleeson in Johannesburg, editing by Christian Radnedge)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below