May 10, 2018 / 7:50 AM / 9 months ago

Rugby Union-Cipriani back, Shields in for England's South Africa tour

LONDON, May 10 (Reuters) - Danny Cipriani has been recalled to the England squad to tour South Africa next month three years after his last appearance, while New Zealand-based back rower Brad Shields was also included for the three-test tour.

Coach Eddie Jones released his squad on Thursday that included seven new players and included Shields after he was released by the New Zealand rugby union over night.

Ben Earl (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Ben Spencer (Saracens), 18-year-old Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) and Jack Willis (Wasps) were all given their chance in the face of a series of absentees.

Cipriani is the headline name, forcing his way back into contention after a great season for Wasps. He will travel as third choice flyhalf behind George Ford and Owen Farrell, who captains the squad in the absence of the injured Dylan Hartley.

Billy Vunipola (Saracens) is recalled after recovering from injury having last played for England in the 2017 Six Nations. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) — a year after last featuring for England in the two Test series in Argentina — is also included.

Danny Care (Harlequins), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (Wasps) and Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens) have been rested for the tour.

England will play South Africa in three Tests in Johannesburg (June 9), Bloemfontein (June 16) and Cape Town (June 23).

England squad for South Africa Tour:


Full backs Mike Brown (Harlequins) Elliot Daly (Wasps) Nathan Earle (Saracens)* Jonny May (Leicester Tigers) Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks) Inside backs Danny Cipriani (Wasps) Owen Farrell (Saracens) George Ford (Leicester Tigers) Alex Lozowski (Saracens) Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) * Dan Robson (Wasps) * Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) Ben Spencer (Saracens) * Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors) Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) Forwards Back five Tom Curry (Sale Sharks) Ben Earl (Saracens)* Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs)* Nick Isiekwe (Saracens) Maro Itoje (Saracens) Joe Launchbury (Wasps) Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) Brad Shields (Hurricanes/Wasps)* Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs) Billy Vunipola (Saracens) Jack Willis (Wasps)* Mark Wilson (Newcastle) Front row Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers) Jamie George (Saracens) Joe Marler (Harlequins) Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) Mako Vunipola (Saracens) Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs) Uncapped * Not considered for selection Backs Danny Care (Harlequins) Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby) Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints) Joe Marchant (Harlequins) Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby) Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens) Forwards Jack Clifford (Harlequins) Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby) Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby) Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) James Haskell (Wasps) Nathan Hughes (Wasps) George Kruis (Saracens) Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Will Spencer (Worcester Warriors) Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby) (Reporting by Mitch Phillips, editing by Amlan Chakraborty)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below