April 19, 2017 / 12:49 PM / 7 months ago

FACTBOX-British and Irish Lions captains

April 19 (Reuters) - A list of British and Irish Lions captains after Sam Warburton was named the 2017 captain for the tour of New Zealand.

2017 Sam Warburton (Wales) v New Zealand 2013 Sam Warburton (Wales) v Australia 2009 Paul O‘Connell (Ireland) v South Africa 2005 Brian O‘Driscoll (Ireland) v New Zealand 2001 Martin Johnson (England) v Australia 1997 Martin Johnson (England) v South Africa 1993 Gavin Hastings (Scotland) v New Zealand 1989 Finlay Calder (Scotland) v Australia 1983 Ciaran Fitzgerald (Ireland) v New Zealand 1980 Bill Beaumont (England) v South Africa 1977 Phil Bennett (Wales) v New Zealand 1974 Willie John McBride (Ireland) v South Africa 1971 John Dawes (Wales) v New Zealand 1968 Tom Kiernan (Ireland) v South Africa 1966 Mike Campbell-Lamerton (Scotland) v NZ and Aus 1962 Arthur Smith (Scotland) v South Africa 1959 Ronnie Dawson (Ireland) v NZ and Aus 1955 Robin Thompson (Ireland) v South Africa 1950 Karl Mullen (Ireland) v Aus & NZ 1938 Sam Walker (Ireland) v South Africa 1930 Doug Prentice (England) v Aus & NZ 1924 Ronald Cove-Smith (England) v South Africa 1910 Tommy Smyth (Ireland) v South Africa 1908 Boxer Harding (Wales) v New Zealand 1904 David Bedell-Sivright (Scotland) v NZ & Aus 1903 Mark Morrison (Scotland) v South Africa 1899 Matthew Mullineux/Frank Stout (England) v Australia 1896 Johnny Hammond (England) v South Africa 1891 Bill Maclagan (Scotland) v South Africa (Compiled by Simon Jennings in Bengaluru, editing by Larry King)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below