January 5, 2017 / 10:54 PM / a year ago

Soccer-African Footballer of the Year winners

ABUJA, Jan 5 (Reuters) - List of African Footballer of the
Year award winners:
    1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France and Mali)
    1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
    1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)
    1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)
    1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)
    1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)
    1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
    1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)
    1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
    1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
    1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
    1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)
    1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain and Cameroon)
    1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)
    1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France and Cameroon)
    1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)
    1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain and Morocco)
    1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal and Algeria)
    1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium and Zambia)
    1989: George Weah (Monaco, France and Liberia)
    1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon)
    1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and
    1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and
    1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyonnaise, France and
    1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France and Liberia) and
Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal and Nigeria)
    1995: George Weah (AC Milan, Italy and Liberia)
    1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy and Nigeria)
    1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France and Nigeria)
    1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain and Morocco)
    1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England and Nigeria)
    2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy and Cameroon)
    2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France and Senegal)
    2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England and Senegal)
    2003: Samuel Eto'o (Real Mallorca, Spain and Cameroon)
    2004: Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
    2005: Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
    2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
    2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain and Mali)
    2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England and Togo)
    2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
    2010: Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan, Italy and Cameroon)
    2011: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
    2012: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
    2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
    2014: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
    2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany
and Gabon)
    2016: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, England and Algeria)
    Note: The award was organised by the French soccer magazine
'France Football' until 1994, after which the Confederation of
African Football instituted a new award.

 (Compiled by Mark Gleeson in Cape Town; Editing by Toby Davis)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below