Reuters logo
RPT-FACTBOX-Soccer-Club World Cup
December 7, 2016 / 12:04 PM / a year ago

RPT-FACTBOX-Soccer-Club World Cup

(Repeats item moved at 0200 GMT, no change to text)
    Dec 7 (Reuters) - Factbox on the Club World Cup, which kicks
off in Japan on Thursday:     
 Real Madrid (Spain) - UEFA Champions League winners 
 Atletico Nacional (Colombia) - Copa Libertadores winners  
 Club America (Mexico) - CONCACAF Champions League winners
 Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) - African Champions League
 Jeonbuk Motors (South Korea) - Asian Champions League winners
 Kashima Antlers (Japan) - Japanese champions (hosts)
 Auckland City (New Zealand) - Oceania Champions League winners
 Thursday, Dec 8 
 Quarter-final playoff  
 Kashima Antlers v Auckland City - Yokohama (1030 GMT) 
 Sunday Dec 11
 Jeonbuk Motors v Club America - Osaka (0700 GMT)
 Mamelodi Sundowns v playoff winner - Osaka (1030 GMT)
 Wednesday Dec 14
 Fifth-Sixth place playoff - Osaka (0730 GMT)
 Atletico Nacional v Winner of 2nd quarter-final - Osaka (1030
 Thursday Dec 15 
 Real Madrid v Winner of 1st quarter-final - Yokohama (1030 GMT)
 Sunday Dec 18
 Third-fourth place playoff - Yokohama (0700 GMT)
 Final - Yokohama (1030 GMT)
 * The Club World Cup replaced the Intercontinental Cup as
FIFA's premier international club competition in 2005. The
Intercontinental Cup, which pitched the champions of South
America against the champions of Europe, ran from 1960 to 2004.
 * Barcelona won a record third title when they beat Argentina's
River Plate 3-0 in last year's final in Yokohama with a goal
from Lionel Messi and two from Luis Suarez.
 * All the winners have come from Europe or Brazil. Africa has
had two finalists in TP Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of
Congo (2010) and Raja Casablanca (2013). The other three
confederations have never produced a finalist.
 * New Zealand's Auckland City have represented Oceania in the
Club World Cup eight times with a third place finish in 2014
their best result. 
 * Yokohama's 72,000-seater International Stadium, venue of the
2002 World Cup final, will be hosting the Club World Cup final
for the eighth time.
 2000  Corinthians (Brazil) 0-0 Vasco da Gama (Brazil) (aet,
Corinthians won 4-3 on penalties) - Rio de Janeiro  
 2005  Sao Paulo (Brazil) 1-0 Liverpool (England) - Yokohama
 2006  Internacional (Brazil) 1-0 Barcelona (Spain) - Yokohama
 2007  AC Milan (Italy) 4-2 Boca Juniors (Argentina) - Yokohama 
 2008  Manchester Utd (England) 1-0 LDU Quito (Ecuador) -
 2009  Barcelona 2-1 Estudiantes (Argentina) (aet) - Abu Dhabi 
 2010  Inter Milan (Italy) 3-0 TP Mazembe (Democratic Republic
of Congo) - Abu Dhabi 
 2011  Barcelona 4-0 Santos (Brazil) - Yokohama
 2012  Corinthians 1-0 Chelsea (England) - Yokohama
 2013  Bayern Munich (Germany) 2-0 Raja Casablanca (Morocco) -
 2014  Real Madrid (Spain) 2-0 San Lorenzo (Argentina)
 2015  Barcelona (Spain) 3-0 River Plate (Argentina) - Yokohama 

 (Compiled by Nick Mulvenney, editing by Peter Rutherford)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below