May 1, 2018 / 12:03 AM / 21 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

Brighton and Hove Albion v Manchester United (1900)

Man United look to move clear in second

LONDON - Manchester United bid to consolidate second place in the table with victory at Brighton who are five points clear of relegation with three games left. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRH-MUN/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 300 words)

We look ahead to the weekend games with the relegation battle and fight for top-four places taking centre stage. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout)

Asian Cup finals draw

A string of footballing greats from the world’s most populous continent will be on hand as the draw for the 2019 Asian Cup finals, the largest ever held with 24 teams participating in the UAE next year, takes place at the iconic Burj Khalifa building. (SOCCER-ASIANCUP/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

Chinese manufacturers gear up for 2018 FIFA World Cup

Chinese manufacturers are busy churning out the 2018 FIFA World Cup merchandise including trophy replicas and key chains two months before the tournament kicks off in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/CHINA (PIX, TV), moved, 400 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Stage One

JERUSALEM - The first day of the 101st Giro d’Italia is a 9.7-kilometre individual time trial through the streets of Jerusalem. Fabio Sabatini is the first rider off but all eyes will be on Briton Chris Froome. (CYCLING-GIRO/, (PIX, TV), by Ori Lewis, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

Diamond League meeting

DOHA - Local high jumper Mutaz Essa Barshim tops the bill as 17 reigning world and Olympic champions gather in Doha to help kick off the 2018 IAAF Diamond League, which gets underway for the ninth straight year in the Qatari capital. (ATHLETICS-DIAMOND/DOHA, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby Week 12

Waikato Chiefs v Jaguares, Rotorua (0735)

Melbourne Rebels v Canterbury Crusaders (0945)

Chiefs seek to stop Jaguares in tracks

WELLINGTON - Argentina’s Jaguares have enjoyed a tour de force, winning their last three matches on the road in Australia and New Zealand but they face a big test against the Waikato Chiefs at Rotorua International Stadium (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/CHIEFS, expect by 0930 GMT / 5:30 AM ET, 300 words)

We will also move rolling HIGHLIGHTS of every match through the weekend.

GOLF

Official reveals course set-up for Players Championship

The PGA Tour official overseeing the course set-up for next week’s Players Championship talks about what the players can expect when they descend on the TPC Sawgrass in Florida for the PGA Tour’s flagship event. (GOLF-PLAYERS/, moved, by Andrew Both, 400 words)

Wells Fargo Championship, Charlotte, North Carolina (to 6)

Tiger six back of leader Peterson after first round

After opening with a respectable even-par 71, Tiger Woods hopes to use his early morning tee time to make a move on overnight leader John Peterson in the second round at Quail Hollow, while Rory McIlroy will start the day three strokes off the pace. (GOLF-WELLSFARGO/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

Kirsten expects beleaguered Australia to challenge for World Cup

NEW DELHI - Australia may still be in the throes of a ball-tampering scandal but World Cup-winning coach Gary Kirsten has no doubts that they would recover to compete for one-day cricket’s most coveted trophy in England and Wales next year. (CRICKET-WORLDCUP/KIRSTEN, (INTERVIEW), expect by 0730 GMT/3:30 AM ET, by Amlan Chakraborty 450 words) (Asia Desk Editor: Amlan Chakraborty)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below