May 18, 2018 / 12:06 AM / 4 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

World Cup

Nishino names Japan squad ahead of Ghana friendly

TOKYO - New Japan boss Akira Nishino names his first squad since taking over the job last month for the friendly match against Ghana. The 30-man squad will be the first indicator from Nishino about his plans for the World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-JPN-GHA/JAPAN-SQUAD (TV), expect by 0615 GMT/2:15 AM ET, by Jack Tarrant, 300 words)

Europa League

Atletico celebrate with fans in Madrid

FRANCE - Atletico Madrid players celebrate with fans at Neptuno Square after winning the 2018 Europa League final (SOCCER-EUROPA-FINAL/CELEBRATIONS (PIX, TV), 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: AT&T Byron Nelson, Dallas (to 20)

Leishman leads by three in Dallas

Australian Marc Leishman takes a three-shot lead over Americans Jimmy Walker and J.J. Spaun into the second round at Trinity Forest Golf Club where hometown favourite and world number three Jordan Spieth is eight shots off the pace. (GOLF-BYRONNELSON/, expect first lead by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Caddies to let their clubs do the talking for a change

Fresh from working for winner Webb Simpson at the Players Championship last week, Paul Tesori will swap roles and swing for himself at the PGA Tour caddie tournament in Dallas on Monday. (GOLF-CADDIES/TESORI, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Andrew Both, 500 words)

NBA

Celtics look for 3-0 lead

The Boston Celtics look to take a commanding 3-0 series lead over LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers when they head to Ohio for Game Three of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference final. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Vegas host Jets in pivotal Game Four

The Vegas Golden Knights try to push the visiting Winnipeg Jets to the brink of elimination from the Stanley Cup playoffs when they take a 2-1 series lead into Game Four of the best-of-seven Western Conference final. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM, ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

BASEBALL

Astros battle Indians, Pirates host Padres The reigning World Series champion Houston Astros try to pad their lead atop the American League West when they host the AL Central-leading Cleveland Indians while the Pittsburgh Pirates host the San Diego Padres in two of the of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

TENNIS

Italian Open

Sharapova faces Ostapenko in Italian Open quarter-finals

ROME - Reigning French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko faces Russian Maria Sharapova for a place in the Italian Open semi-finals. Top seed Simona Halep takes on France’s Caroline Garcia, while former world number one Angelique Kerber meets defending champion Elina Svitolina. (TENNIS-ROME/WOMEN (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

Nadal faces Fognini in Italian Open quarters

ROME - Top seed Rafa Nadal takes on Italy’s Fabio Fognini in the quarter-finals of the Italian Open. Defending champion Alexander Zverev faces Belgian David Goffin while former world number one Novak Djokovic will meet Japan’s Kei Nishikori.(TENNIS-ROME/MEN (PIX, TV), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Simon Yates retains the overall lead heading into stage 13 of the Giro d’Italia, a 180-kilometre ride from Ferrara to Nervesa Della Battaglia. (CYCLING-GIRO/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

ESPORTS

esports not just a passing fad, major organiser says

FRANCE - Jan Pommer, the director of team and federation relations at Electronic Sports League, tells Reuters esports is nothing like Pokemon. (E-SPORT-DEVELOPMENT/ expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby - Week 14

Wellington Hurricanes v Queensland Reds

WELLINGTON - Halfback TJ Perenara will captain the Hurricanes as they go for a 10th straight victory this season, while Reds are still rebuilding under Brad Thorn and will do well to end the 39-match winning streak of New Zealand Super Rugby teams over Australian opposition. (RUGBY UNION-SUPER/HURRICANES, expect by 0730 GMT/3:30 AM ET, 400 words)

BASKETBALL

Euroleague Final Four

BELGRADE - Fenerbahce Dogus Istanbul v Zalgiris Kaunas and CSKA Moscow v Real Madrid (BASKETBALL-EUROLEAGUE/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 300 words) (Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below