Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday, Aug 19
August 18, 2017 / 3:18 PM / 2 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday, Aug 19

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday:

SOCCER

English Premier League (1400 unless states)

Swansea City v Manchester United (1130)

Bournemouth v Watford

Burnley v West Bromwich Albion

Leicester City v Brighton and Hove Albion

Liverpool v Crystal Palace

Southampton v West Ham United

Stoke City v Arsenal (1630)

United visit Swans, Liverpool host Palace, Arsenal at Stoke

LONDON - Manchester United travel to Swansea City in the early match before Liverpool welcome Crystal Palace and Arsenal visit Stoke City in the late game as the three title hopefuls play their second game. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from 1330 GMT/9:30 AM ET, by Ian Chadband and Neil Robinson, 500 words)

Bundesliga (1330 unless stated)

Mainz v Hanover 96

Hamburg SV v FC Augsburg

Hertha Berlin v VfB Stuttgart

TSG 1899 Hoffenheim v Werder Bremen

VfL Wolfsburg v Borussia Dortmund

FC Schalke 04 v RB Leipzig (1630)

Leipzig visit Schalke, Dortmund at Wolfsburg

BERLIN - Last season’s Bundesliga runners-up RB Leipzig are in action at Schalke 04 while Borussia Dortmund, who finished third, travel to VfL Wolfsburg. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX, TV), expect from 1530 GMT/1130 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Serie A

Juventus v Cagliari (1600)

Verona v Napoli (1845)

Juve begin bid for seventh straight league title

MILAN - Juventus start their campaign for a seventh straight Serie A title at home to Cagliari, while Napoli, one of their leading challengers, visit promoted Verona. (SOCCER-ITALY/expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

La Liga

Celta Vigo v Real Sociedad (1615)

Girona FC v Atletico Madrid (1815)

Sevilla v Espanyol (2015)

Atletico start at Girona as clubs observe minute’s silence

BARCEONA - Last season’s third-place finishers Atletico Madrid visit Girona, who are making their La Liga bow, as clubs hold a minute’s silence beofre their opening games of the season to remember the victims of Thursday’s deadly attacks in Barcelona. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect from 2015 GMT/4:15 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

Australia v New Zealand, Sydney (1000)

South Africa v Argentina, Port Elizabeth (1505)

Australia look to lift the gloom against New Zealand

SYDNEY - The Wallabies have a chance to lift some of the gloom hanging over Australian rugby on Saturday but to do so they will have to achieve the considerable feat of upsetting the All Blacks in the Rugby Championship opener. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-AUS-NZL/, expect by 1230 GMT/8:30 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 500 words)

Springboks can take next step in revival

PORT ELIZABETH, South Africa - South Africa will take another step in their bid for redemption when they host struggling Argentina in the Rugby Championship, hoping to build on a 3-0 clean-sweep of a home June series against a depleted France. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-ZAF-ARG/, expect by 1730 GMT/1:30 PM ET, 500 words)

CRICKET

England v West Indies first test (to 21)

West Indies resume on 44-1, 470 runs behind England

BIRMINHGHAM, England - West Indies resume on 44-1, 470 runs adrift of the hosts on the third day of the first day-night test in England. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-WIN/, expect from 1500 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

GOLF

Fiji International, Sigatoka (to 20)

Hend shares four-way lead in Fiji

Big-hitting Australian Scott Hend shares a two-shot halfway lead with compatriot Jason Norris, Malaysia’s Gavin Green and New Zealand’s first round leader Daniel Pearce after shooting a six-under-par 66 in the second round at the Natadola Bay course. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 300 words)

PGA Tour: Wyndham Championship (to 20)

Stenson trails Simpson, Armour by one at halfway mark

GREENSBORO, North Carolina - Americans Webb Simpson and Ryan Armour, at 13-under 127, take a one-stroke lead over Swede Henrik Stenson into the third round at Sedgefield Country Club in the final regular-season event of the PGA Tour season. (GOLF-WYNDHAM/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA: Solheim Cup (to 20) West Des Moines, Iowa

U.S. carry three-point lead into Day 2 of Solheim Cup

The United States, after sweeping the first day’s four-balls, carry a three-point lead over Team Europe into the second day of the biennial Solheim Cup matchplay team event at Des Moines Country Club in Iowa. (GOLF-WOMEN-SOLHEIM/, expect by 1500 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Ryu leads Dodgers in clash with Tigers

South Korean left-hander Ryu Hyun-jin takes the mound for the National League West-division leading Los Angeles Dodgers against the Detroit Tigers while the New York Yankees renew their rivalry with the Boston Red Sox in two of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0630 GMT/2:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta d‘Espana

The opening day team time trial in Nimes, France, will allow favourite Chris Froome to put a few seconds on his rivals including home favourite Alberto Contador who begins the final race of his career. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect from 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 400 words)

Asia desk editor: Greg Stutchbury

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below