May 10, 2018 / 2:00 PM / 16 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday:

SOCCER

Bundesliga

Hamburg on brink of relegation for first time

BERLIN - Hamburg must not lose to Borussia Moenchengladbach as they bid to keep alive their hopes of avoiding relegation for the first time, while Borussia Dortmund look to book a Champions League spot and Bayern Munich will be presented with the Bundesliga trophy at home to Stuttgart. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

La Liga

Sevilla, Getafe battle for Europa league spot

BARCELONA - Real Betis host city rivals Sevilla who are bidding to clinch a Europa League spot but Getafe also hope to grab seventh place as they face Atletico Madrid, who will guarantee second spot above neighbours Real Madrid, who host Celta Vigo, with a win. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect from 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Ligue 1 (1900)

Lyon and Monaco battle for second spot in Ligue 1

PARIS - The race for second place and qualification for the Champions League group stage is the main focus with Monaco, Olympique Lyonnais and Olympique de Marseille, who drew on Friday, bidding to finish behind Paris St Germain. The team in third will go into the third qualifying round. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

English Championship playoff, semi-final

Middlesbrough v Aston Villa (1615)

LONDON - Middlesbrough host Aston Villa in the first leg of their second-tier playoff with a place in the final up for grabs and the prospect of a Premier League return. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-MID-AVA/ (PIX), expect from 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 250 words)

MOTOR RACING

Formula One: Spanish Grand Prix

Vettel bids for fourth straight pole

BARCELONA - Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel aims for his fourth pole in a row to boost his chances of re-taking the Formula One championship lead from Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton. (MOTOR-F1-SPAIN/ (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Players Championship, Ponte Vedra Beach (to 13)

Simpson ties course record with 63, leads by five

Webb Simpson takes a five-stroke lead over South African Charl Schwartzel, American Patrick Cantlay and New Zealander Danny Lee into the third round at TPC Sawgrass after firing a course record-tying 63. (GOLF-PLAYERS/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 450 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Briton Yates leads ahead of eighth stage

MONTEVERGINE - Briton Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) is the overall leader heading into the eighth stage of 209km from Praia a Mare to Montevergine. (CYCLING-GIRO/, (PIX, TV), 400 words)

TENNIS

Madrid Open

Nadal’s conqueror Thiem meets Anderson in semi-finals

MADRID - Dominic Thiem, who knocked out holder Rafa Nadal on Friday, takes on South African Kevin Anderson while Germany’s Alexander Zverev meets Canadian teenager Denis Shapovalov in the semi-finals. (TENNIS-MADRID/MEN (PIX, TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 400 words)

Kvitova faces Bertens in Madrid final

MADRID - Czech Petra Kvitova is bidding for a third triumph in Madrid as she faces unseeded Dutchwoman Kiki Bertens in the final. (TENNIS-MADRID/WOMEN (PIX), 300 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby: Round 13

Otago Highlanders v Lions

Bulls v Sharks

Lions face tricky test at playoff hopefuls Highlanders

AUSTRALIA - Dominant in South Africa yet winless against New Zealand teams this season, the Lions’ championship credentials again go under the microscope when they travel to Dunedin to take on the Highlanders, where the home side will be desperate for points to stay in the playoffs race. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/HIGHLANDERS, expect by 0930 GMT/5:30 AM ET, 300 words)

Bulls face Sharks in South African derby

PRETORIA - The Bulls host the Sharks in a South African derby as both teams seek to keep their playoff hopes alive with victory at Loftus Versfeld. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/BULLS, expect by 1705 GMT/1:05 PM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

We will also move HIGHLIGHTS of every match of the weekend.

European Champions Cup final

Leinster Rugby v Racing 92

Leinster face Racing 92 as Bilbao’s magnificent San Mames Stadium stages the Champions Cup showpiece. (RUGBY-UNION-LEN-RAC/CHAMPIONS-CUP (PIX), expect by 1745 GMT/1:45PM ET, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

Diamond League, Shanghai

Stellar field at Diamond League meet in China

SHANGHAI - Fourteen world and Olympic champions are among the competitors at the Shanghai Diamond League, the second stop on the IAAF elite circuit. (ATHLETICS-DIAMOND-SHANGHAI/ (PIX), 40 words)

NHL

Jets and Golden Knights battle for Stanley Cup berth

WINNIPEG - The reborn Winnipeg Jets and the expansion Las Vegas Golden Knights meet in Game One of a fascinating best-of-seven Western Conference Finals that will see one team advance to the Stanley Cup Finals. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-WPG-VGK/ (PIX), expect by 0230 GMT/1030 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 450 words)

BASEBALL

Morton, Astros take on the Rangers

Undefeated Charlie Morton goes for his fifth win of the season when the Houston Astros face the visiting Texas Rangers in a showdown for Texas honors and the Cleveland Indians, leaders in the American League Central Division, are at home to play the Kansas City Royals in two of the 16 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 030 GMT/1:350 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

Asia Desk Editor: Peter Rutherford

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below