Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday, Aug 27
August 27, 2017 / 12:02 AM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday, Aug 27

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

TENNIS

U.S. Open, New York (from 28)

Relentless schedule taking toll on big-name players

Novak Djokovic and Stan Wawrinka have reputations for being supreme athletes but a gruelling tennis season that offers little time to recover has left them among a number of big-name players who will be missing from the U.S. Open with injuries. (TENNIS-USOPEN/INJURIES, expect by 2130 GMT/5:30 PM ET, by Frank Pingue, 650 words)

Nadal focused on title, not potential Federer clash

NEW YORK – Top-seeded Spaniard Rafa Nadal and Roger Federer are on a U.S. Open semi-final collision course but the former refuses to let a potential clash with his longtime rival cloud his goal of winning a third title at Flushing Meadows. (TENNIS-USOPEN/NADAL/, expect by 1430 GMT/10:30 AM ET, by Simon Cambers, 500 words)

SOCCER

Premier League

Chelsea v Everton (1230)

West Bromwich Albion v Stoke City (1230)

Liverpool v Arsenal (1500)

Tottenham Hotspur v Burnley (1500)

Chelsea host Everton, Arsenal head to Liverpool

LONDON - Champions Chelsea seek their first home win of the season against Everton, Liverpool entertain Arsenal and West Brom bid for their third successive victory against Stoke. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/(PIX), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, 500 words)

La Liga

Espanyol v Leganes (1615)

Eibar v Athletic Club (1615)

Getafe v Sevilla (1815)

Real Madrid v Valencia (2015)

Real Madrid host Valencia

MADRID - Champions Real Madrid seek second win of the season against Valencia. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 1815 GMT/2:15 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 500 words)

Serie A

Torino v Sassuolo (1600)

AC Milan v Cagliari (1845)

Chievo Verona v Lazio (1845)

Crotone v Verona (1845)

Fiorentina v Sampdoria (1845)

Napoli v Atalanta Bergamo (1845)

SPAL v Udinese (1845)

Milan host Cagliari

MILAN - Big-spending AC Milan host Cagliari while Napoli hope to continue their impressive start to the season as they entertain Atalanta. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

Bundesliga

RB Leipzig v Freiburg (1330)

Hanover 96 v FC Schalke 04 (1600)

(SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, 500 words)

Ligue 1

En Avant de Guingamp v Racing Strasbourg (1300)

Angers SCO v Lille (1500)

Monaco v Olympique Marseille (1900)

(SOCCER-FRANCE, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM et, 300 words)

CRICKET

Bangladesh v Australia first test (to 31)

Australia guard against complacency against Bangladesh

DHAKA - Steve Smith’s Australia will be guarding against complacency when they take on Bangladesh in the first match of the two-test series at Mirpur’s Shere Bangla National Stadium. (CRICKET-TEST-BGD-AUS/, expect throughout, 400 words)

India v Sri Lanka, third ODI

Marauding India look to clinch series against Sri Lanka

PALLEKELE, Sri Lanka - India will be looking to clinch the series with their third successive victory when they take on a beleaguered Sri Lanka in the third one-day international. (CRICKET-ODI-LKA-IND/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 350 words)

England v West Indies second test

West Indies in control

LEEDS, England - West Indies will resume on 329-5 on the third day, 71 runs ahead of England. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-WIN/ (PIX), expect by 1230 GMT/8 30 AM ET, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Northern Trust (to 27), Old Westbury, New York

Spieth in command at Glen Oaks Club

British Open champion Jordan Spieth takes a three-shot lead over world number one Dustin Johnson into the final round at Glen Oaks Club in the first of the PGA Tour’s four lucrative FedExCup playoff events. (GOLF-NORTHERNTRUST/, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA: CP Women’s Open (to 27): Ottawa, Ontario

Broch Larsen, Martin take share of lead into final round Dane Nicole Broch Larsen and American Mo Martin share a one-shot lead over Chun In-gee of South Korea going into the final round at Ottawa Golf Club where Canadian Brooke Henderson is three shots off the pace and in a tie for seventh place. (GOLF-WOMEN-CANADIANPACIFIC/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

MOTOR RACING

Belgian Grand Prix

Hamilton starts from record-equalling pole, Vettel alongside

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, Belgium - Lewis Hamilton is favourite for his fifth win of the season after putting his Mercedes on a record-equalling 68th career pole position. Ferrari’s championship leader Sebastian Vettel starts alongside. (MOTOR-F1-BELGIUM/,PIX, TV, expect by 1400 GMT/10 A.M. ET, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words).

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

CYCLING

Vuelta a Espana

Briton Froome leads

(CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

MOTORCYCLING

MotoGP World Championship - British Grand Prix 2017

(MOTOR-MOTOGP-BRITAIN/(TV), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, 250 words)

BASEBALL

Greinke and D-backs face Giants, Dodgers face Brewers

Former Cy Young Award winner Zack Greinke and the Arizona Diamondbacks host the San Francisco Giants while Japanese right-hander Kenta Maeda takes the mound for the Los Angeles Dodgers versus the visiting Milwaukee Brewers in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

Asia desk editor: Ian Ransom

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below