June 3, 2018 / 12:26 AM / 16 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday

TENNIS

French Open

Second seed Alexander Zverev will be looking to reach his first Grand Slam quarter-final when he faces big-hitting Russian Karen Khachanov, while former champion Novak Djokovic will hope to continue his steady progress against Spanish veteran Fernando Verdasco. (TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/ (PIX, TV), expect throughout, by Martyn Herman, Pritha Sarkar and Julien Pretot, 500 words)

SOCCER

World Cup warm-up matches

Brazil v Croatia (1400)

LIVERPOOL, England - Five-times world champions Brazil face fellow World Cup qualifiers Croatia in a warm-up match ahead of this month’s tournament. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-CRO/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Costa Rica v Northern Ireland (1700)

SAN JOSE - World Cup-bound Costa Rica take on Northern Ireland in a friendly. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRI-NIR/ (PIX), expect by 1900 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

Saudi Arabia v Peru (1800)

ST GALLEN, Switzerland - Saudi Arabia and Peru, who have both qualified for the World Cup, meet in a friendly. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SAU-PER/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

Spain v Switzerland (1900)

VILLARREAL, Spain - Spain face Switzerland in a World Cup warm-up at Villarreal’s Estadio de la Ceramica as both sides prepare for the tournament. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ESP-SWI/ (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Wrap-up of the day’s international friendlies

Round-up of the day’s friendlies plus team news in the run-up to the World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/WRAPUP, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

GOLF

LPGA Tour: U.S. Women’s Open, Shoal Creek, Alabama

Ariya on verge of ending Korean and American dominance

Ariya Jutanugarn of Thailand seeks to break a run of 11 consecutive victories by South Korean and American players when she takes a four-stroke lead into the final round at Shoal Creek. (GOLF-USCHAMP/ (PIX), expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 450 words)

Italian Open

England’s Lee Slattery starts the final round with a one-shot advantage over Denmark’s Thorbjorn Olesen and home favourite Francesco Molinari, with Martin Kaymer and former Masters champion Danny Willett a shot further back. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ITALIAN, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

PGA Tour: Memorial Tournament, Dublin, Ohio

Bryson DeChambeau takes a one-stroke lead into the final round at the Muirfield Village Golf Club, where rain and wind is expected. (GOLF-MEMORIAL/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

NBA

Cavs look to avenge Game One loss

OAKLAND - LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers look to even their NBA Finals series against the defending champion Golden State Warriors when the teams meet for Game Two in Oakland. (BASEKETBALL-NBA-GSW-CLE/, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, by Rory Carroll, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby (week 16)

ACT Brumbies v Sunwolves (0605)

WELLINGTON - The ACT Brumbies will be desperate for a win in Canberra against a Sunwolves side shorn of most of their Japan internationals after defying Australia coach Michael Cheika by playing a trio of Wallabies. (RUGBY UNION-SUPER/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0755 GMT/4:55 PM ET, 400 words)

England coach holds news conference before S.Africa tests

DURBAN - England coach Eddie Jones talks to the media at the start of a three-test tour of South Africa with his squad based in Durban and flying to the venues the day before the matches. (RUGBY-UNION-ENG/, expect from 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

CRICKET

England v Pakistan, Headingley

England resume on 302 for seven, leading by 128 runs, on the third day in the second and final test in the series. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-PAK (PIX), 400 words)

MotoGP

Italian Grand Prix

Rossi on pole position for home Italian Grand Prix

Yamaha’s Italian MotoGP great Valentino Rossi starts his home race on pole position, with championship leader Marc Marquez on the second row of the grid for Honda. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-ITALY/ (PIX, TV), 300 words)

BASEBALL

Yankees battle Orioles, Cubs visit Mets

The American East-leading New York Yankees take on the Baltimore Orioles while in the National League the Chicago Cubs take on the New York Mets in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

CYCLING

Criterium du Dauphine

The Criterium du Dauphine prologue is a 6.6-km individual time trial around Valence. (CYCLING-DAUPHINE/ (TV), by Julien Pretot, 400 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below