April 16, 2018 / 1:02 AM / 6 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Premier League

Burnley v Chelsea (1845)

Leicester City v Southampton (1845

Chelsea bid to close on Spurs

LONDON - Chelsea aim to close the gap on fourth-placed Tottenham Hotspur to five points with victory at Burnley who will climb to sixth by completing the double over the London side. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 300 words)

Spurs hoping to make home advantage count against United

MANCHESTER - Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur can both claim to have had seasons of progress in the Premier League but the FA Cup, in which they meet in Saturday’s semi-final, remains their only chance of ending the campaign with silverware. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-CUP/ (PREVIEW), moving at 0101 GMT/9:01 PM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Palace eye crucial points at Watford

MANCHESTER, England - Crystal Palace may have moved to six points above the Premier League relegation zone but Saturday’s visit to Vicarage Road to face Watford could be crucial to Roy Hodsgon’s side’s survival hopes. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moving at 0100 GMT/9:PM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

We bring you all the latest team and injury news ahead of this week’s fixtures. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout)

La Liga

Alaves v Girona (1730)

Real Sociedad v Atletico Madrid (1730)

Levante v Malaga (1930)

Real Betis v Las Palmas (1930)

Atletico bid to close gap on leaders Barcelona

MADRID - Atletico Madrid seek to close the gap on leaders Barcelona to nine points with victory at Sociedad. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect at 2130 GMT/5:30 PM ET, by Rik Sharma, 400 words)

TENNIS

Monte Carlo Masters

Djokovic meets Thiem in last 16

Two-times winner Novak Djokovic faces fifth seed Dominic Thiem while defending champion Rafa Nadal takes on Karen Khachanov of Russia. (TENNIS-MONTECARLO/ (PIX, TV), 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Texas Open, San Antonio (to 22)

Garcia tries to bounce back from Masters

After missing the cut at the Masters, thanks in no small measure to one disastrous hole, Spaniard Sergio Garcia seeks to bounce back as he heads a field that includes another former Masters champion, Adam Scott, at TPC San Antonio. (GOLF-TEXAS/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: JTBC LA Open, Los Angeles (to 22)

Women seek stardom in Tinseltown

Shanshan Feng of China heads a stellar field that includes nearly all of the top players as the LPGA returns to exclusive Wilshire Country Club for the first time since 2001. (GOLF-WOMEN/LAOPEN, expect by 0400 GMT/12 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

NBA

Warriors face Spurs, Sixers battle Heat

The defending champion Golden State Warriors look to take a decisive 3-0 series lead when they travel to face the Spurs in San Antonio while the Philadelphia 76ers battle the Miami Heat in two of the three first-round playoff games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Caps battle Blue Jackets, Bruins visit Leafs

The Washington Capitals look to even their series against the Blue Jackets at two games apiece while the Boston Bruins hope to take a 3-1 series lead against the Toronto Maple Leafs in the two playoff games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

BASEBALL

Ohtani-mania sweeps LA

In a city known for its big stars, two-way baseball sensation Shohei Ohtani is shinning the brightest, delighting long-suffering Los Angeles Angels fans in his first MLB season since leaving his native Japan for California (BASEBALL-MLB-LAA-BOS/OHTANI) (PIX, TV) expect by 0500 GMT/1:00 a.m. ET, by Rory Carroll, 350 words)

NL-West leading Diamondbacks host Giants The NL-West leading Arizona Diamondbacks host division rivals the San Francisco Giants while the defending champion Houston Astros battle the Mariners in Seattle in two of the nine games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below