Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, May 28
May 28, 2017 / 2:02 PM / 6 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, May 28

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

MOTOR RACING

Monaco Grand Prix

Vettel wins Monaco GP

MONACO - Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel won the grand prix to stretch his championship lead to 25 points. (MOTOR-F1-MONACO/ (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock

Indy 500

INDIANAPOLIS - Fernando Alonso will be in the spotlight as the twice Formula One world champion skips Monaco to race at the 101st Indianapolis 500 in a bid to claim the second jewel of motor racing’s Triple Crown. (MOTOR-INDY-INDY500/ by Steve Keating, 400 words)

TENNIS

French Open

Top seed Kerber tumbles out, Kvitova makes an emotional comeback

Angelique Kerber became the first woman top seed to lose in the first round at the French Open, going down 6-2 6-2 to Ekaterina Makarova. Petra Kvitova made a winning start after five months out following a stabbing injury.(TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/(PIX), by Julien Pretot, Karolos Grohmann and John Stonestreet, 600 words)

SOCCER

Serie A (1845 unless stated)

Cagliari v AC Milan (1300)

AS Roma v Genoa (1600)

Sampdoria v Napoli (1600)

Crotone v Lazio

Fiorentina v Pescara

Inter Milan v Udinese

Palermo v Empoli

Torino v Sassuolo

Roma bid to wrap up Champions League group stage spot

ROME - AS Roma host Genoa needing a win to guarantee runners-up spot behind Juventus and a place in the Champions League group stage while Napoli, a point behind in third, visit Sampdoria. The matches will also decide whether Empoli or Crotone will be relegated. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), by Brian Homewood, 500 words)

Atletico moving to new stadium but will they lose soul?

MADRID - Atletico Madrid play the last game at their beloved Vicente Calderon stadium with a friendly against a ‘legends’ team made up of former players as they bid farewell to their home of 51 years, but will the club lose part of their identity when they make the switch to the Wanda Metropolitano in a different part of the city? (SOCCER-SPAIN-ATM-STADIUM/ (PIX, TV), expect by 2000/4 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Portuguese Cup final

LISBON - Benfica attempt to complete a league and double when they face Vitoria Guimaraes in the Portuguese Cup final. (SOCCER-PORTUGAL/CUP, expect by 1815 GMT/2:15 PM ET, 300 words)

Chinese Super League

HONG KONG - We bring you a wrap of the latest round of fixtures in the Chinese Super League as Felix Magath’s Shandong Luneng take on Henan Jianye aiming to close the gap on leaders Guangzhou Evergrande. (SOCCER-CHINA/ expect by 1500 GMT/1000 AM ET, 500 words)

GOLF

BMW PGA Championship

Little-known Dodt chases Wentworth victory

VIRGINIA WATER, England - Unheralded Australian Andrew Dodt holds a one-shot lead over world number 26 Branden Grace of South Africa going into the final round of the European Tour’s flagship event at Wentworth. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ (PIX), expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by Tony Jimenez, 500 words)

PGA Tour: Dean & DeLuca Invitational, Fort Worth (to 28)

Simpson leads at Colonial

Final round at Colonial Country Club where Webb Simpson leads the way. (GOLF-FTWORTH/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: Volvik Championship, Michigan (to 28)

Feng tries to hold onto Volvik lead

China’s Shanshan Feng goes into the final round with a one stroke lead at Travis Pointe Country Club in Ann Arbor. (GOLF-WOMEN/, expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

CYCLING

Giro d‘Italia (to 28)

Dutchman Dumoulin has Giro title in sight on final day

The three-week race is set for a dramatic finale with Tom Dumoulin set to win the Giro on Sunday in the final 29.3 km time-trial. The Dutchmano is 53 seconds off the pace set by Colombia’s Nairo Quintana. (CYCLING-GIRO/ (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby

Lions v Kings (1230)

Lions face Kings in bid for home quarter-final

JOHANNESBURG - The Lions host South African rivals the Southern Kings as their hunt for a home Super Rugby quarter-final continues at Ellis Park. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/LIONS, expect by 1420 GMT/1020 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

London desk editor: Clare Lovell

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below