July 2, 2018 / 12:02 AM / 4 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Monday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Monday:

SOCCER

World Cup

Brazil v Mexico (1400)

SAMARA, Russia - Brazil face Mexico in their World Cup round-of-16 match. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-MEX/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 600 words)

Belgium v Japan (1800)

ROSTOV-ON-DON, Russia - Belgium play Japan in their World Cup round-of-16 match. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BEL-JPN/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 600 words)

Follow-ups

NIZHNY NOVGOROD, Russia - Follow-ups on Denmark and Croatia after their last-16 tie. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRO-DNK/ (PIX), by Philip O’Connor, Andrew Cawthorne and Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

Spain back to dark ages after World Cup debacle

MOSCOW - Spain arrived at the World Cup convinced they were ready to rule world football again but Sunday’s defeat to Russia in the last 16 has set the 2010 champions back a decade and brought an end to a glorious generation. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ESP-RUS/ (PIX), moved, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Follow-up on Russia after their round-of-16 victory over Spain. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ESP-RUS/ (PIX), expect after 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

News conferences

‘Remember you’re one of us’, Uruguay tell Griezmann

Uruguay’s players urged France forward Antoine Griezmann on Monday to remember his links and affection for their country ahead of Friday’s World Cup quarter-final. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-URY/ (PIX), expect after 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Andrew Cawthorne, 400 words)

Switzerland news conferences and training

Switzerland prepare for their World Cup round-of-16 match in St Petersburg. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE-SWI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect after 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, 400 words)

Swedes trust in the collective ahead of Swiss showdown

Sweden are the underdogs going into their World Cup last 16 match with Switzerland but are counting on strategy and trust in the collective to help them reach the quarter-finals, their captain Andreas Granqvist said on Monday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE-SWI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), moved, 400 words)

Colombia news conference and training session

Colombia prepare for their World Cup round-of-16 match against England at Moscow’s Spartak Stadium. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-COL-ENG/PREVIEW (PIX/TV), expect after 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Alastair Macdonald and Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

England news conference

MOSCOW - England manager Gareth Southgate holds a news conference at Moscow’s Spartak Stadium ahead of his team’s World Cup round-of-16 match against Colombia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-COL-ENG/PREVIEW (PIX/TV), expect after 1745 GMT/1:45 PM ET, by Alastair Macdonald and Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Other stories

Andersson leads Swedes back to promised World Cup land

SOCHI, Russia - When Zlatan Ibrahimovic and coach Erik Hamren brought their time with the national team to an end after Euro 2016, Sweden turned to Janne Andersson, a man steeped in the country’s footballing traditions, to lead them back to the World Cup stage. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE/ANDERSSON (PIX), by Philip O’Connor, moved, 400 words)

Russian boss uses World Cup cash for portrait of wife

MOSCOW - The head of a Russian advertising agency tasked with decorating Moscow facades ahead of the World Cup used the opportunity to paint a 12-storey-high portrait of his wife. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/RUSSIA-ART (PIX), by Polina Ivanova, 400 words)

TENNIS

Wimbledon (to 15)

Federer opens defence in quest for ninth Wimbledon title

LONDON - Defending champion Roger Federer will open play on Centre Court as he begins his quest for a record-extending ninth Wimbledon title while American Serena Williams returns to the All England Club for the first time since 2016 with an opening-round encounter against Arantxa Rus. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/, (PIX, TV), expect throughout, by Martyn Herman and Pritha Sarkar)

GOLF

International Crown teams announced

The teams and seedings will be announced for the International Crown, an eight-nation women’s team event to be held in South Korea in October. (GOLF-WOMEN/INTERNATIONALCROWN, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 300 words)

BASEBALL

Kluber seeks 12th victory at Kansas City

Cleveland’s Corey Kluber goes for his 12th win of the year when the Indians visit the Kansas City Royals and the Milwaukee Brewers, leaders in the National League Central, face the visiting Minnesota Twins in two of the 10 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

SPORT

Quidditch World Cup takes place in Italy

The second ever Quidditch World Cup is set to take place in Italy, with more than 500 players expected to compete. Quidditch featured in J.K Rowling’s Harry Potter book series and since has become a sport in its own right. (QUIDDITCH-WORLDCUP/ (TV) 300 words) (Europe desk editor: Christian Radnedge)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below