May 30, 2018 / 12:03 AM / in 5 months

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday:

TENNIS

French Open

Nadal faces Gasquet in third round, Serena also in action

PARIS - World number one Rafa Nadal faces local hope Richard Gasquet in the third round of the French Open in a clash between two long-time friends, while in the woman’s draw Serena Williams takes on 11th seed Julia Goerges of Germany. (TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/ (PIX, TV), expect throughout, by Richard Lough, Ossian Shine, Pritha Sarkar and Julien Pretot, 500 words)

SOCCER

World Cup warm-up matches

Austria v Germany (1600)

World champions Germany meet neighbours Austria in a warm-up friendly as they prepare to defend their world title in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-AUT-GER/ (PIX), expect by expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

England v Nigeria (1615)

LONDON - Gareth Southgate’s England side face Nigeria at Wembley stadium with the manager starting Jese Lingard in midfield but giving no clues as to who will be in goal. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ENG-NGA/ (PIX), expect by 1815 GMT/2:15 PM ET, by William Schomberg, 400 words)

Sweden v Denmark (1745)

STOCKHOLM - Sweden take on Nordic neighbours Denmark in a pre-World Cup friendly. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE-DNK/ (PIX), expect by 1945 GMT/3:45 PM ET, by Philip O’Connor, 400 words)

Belgium v Portugal (1845)

BRUSSELS - Belgium’s Roberto Martinez assesses his players against European champions Portugal in the first of their warm-up games before naming his 23-man World Cup squad on June 4. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BEL-POR/ (PIX), expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, by Philip Blenkinsop and Robert-Jan Bartunek, 300 words)

Wrap-up of the day’s international friendlies

Round-up of the day’s friendlies, including Iceland v Norway, plus team news in the run-up to the World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/WRAPUP, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

GOLF

Italian Open

German Kaymer leads by one stroke in Italy

Martin Kaymer of Germany holds a one-shot lead over Britain’s former Masters champion Danny Willet and local favourite Francesco Molinari at Gardagolf Country Club. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ITALIAN, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

LPGA Tour: U.S. Women’s Open, Shoal Creek, Alabama (to 3)

Smith sleeps on lead as others toil on

Australian Sarah Jane Smith will sleep on the clubhouse lead after a second-round 67, but half the field will be back at Shoal Creek at the crack of dawn for the resumption of the round after a long lightning delay on Friday. (GOLF-WOMEN/US CHAMP (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 400 words)

PGA Tour: Memorial Tournament, Dublin, Ohio (to 3)

Chilean teenager Joaquin Niemann and American Kyle Stanley share a two-stroke lead over South Korean An Byeong-hun with Tiger Woods six shots back at Muirfield Village Golf Club. (GOLF-MEMORIAL/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby (week 16)

Waikato Chiefs v Canterbury Crusaders (0730)

Crusaders outmuscle Chiefs for 10th straight win

WELLINGTON - The Canterbury Crusaders juggernaut rolled impressively into the international break on a 10-match Super Rugby winning streak on Saturday after they outmuscled the Waikato Chiefs 34-20 in Hamilton.(RUGBY UNION-SUPER/CHIEFS, moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

CRICKET

England v Pakistan, Headingley

Rain prevents play between England and Pakistan

Rain prevented any play on the second morning of the second test between England and Pakistan at Headingley. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-PAK (PIX), 400 words)

Horse Racing

Derby, Epsom

Odds-on favourite Saxon Warrior leads the field for the Epsom Derby, highlight of the British flat racing calendar.(HORSERACING-DERBY/ (PIX), 300 words)

MotoGP

Italian Grand Prix

Rossi on pole for home Italian Grand Prix at Mugello

Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi delighted his home Italian Grand Prix crowd on Saturday with his first MotoGP pole position since 2016, and at the age of 39. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-ITALY/ (PIX, TV), moved, 300 words)

CLIMBING

Climbing world Cup heads to Japan

TOKYO - Hachioji, near 2020 Olympics host city Tokyo, plays host to an IFSC Bouldering World Cup event as Japan gears up to get excited about one of the Olympics’ new sports. (CLIMBING-JAPAN/, moved, by Jack Tarrant, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Verlander bids for eighth win

Justin Verlander goes for his eighth win of the season when the Houston Astros meet the visiting Boston Red Sox and Japanese pitcher Masahiro Tanaka takes the mound for the New York Yankees versus the host Baltimore Orioles in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Capitals host Golden Knights in Stanley Cup action

The Washington Capitals hope home ice will help them take a 2-1 lead over the Vegas Golden Knights when they meet in Game Three of the National Hockey League’s best-of-seven Stanley Cup Final. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-WSH-VGK/, expect by 0245 GMT/10:45 PM ET, 500 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Europe desk editor: Ken Ferris)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below