Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, Aug 20
August 20, 2017 / 2:02 PM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, Aug 20

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

English Premier League

Huddersfield Town v Newcastle United (1230)

Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea (1500)

Spurs face champions Chelsea

LONDON - Tottenham begin a season-long residence at Wembley Stadium by hosting Premier League champions Chelsea in a showdown between last season’s top two teams. Promoted Newcastle United travel to Huddersfield Town in the day’s early match. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 1420 GMT/10:20 AM ET, 500 words)

Serie A

Atalanta Bergamo v AS Roma (1600)

Bologna v Torino (1845)

Crotone v AC Milan (1845)

Inter Milan v Fiorentina (1845)

Sampdoria v Benevento (1845)

Sassuolo v Genoa (1845)

Lazio v SPAL (1845)

Udinese v Chievo Verona (1845)

Soccer-Milan visit Crotone, Inter host Fiorentina in Serie A

MILAN - Big spending AC Milan start their Serie A campaign with a visit to Crotone, the side who pulled off a great escape last season, while Inter Milan host Fiorentina. (SOCCER-ITALY, expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

La Liga

Athletic Club v Getafe (1615)

Barcelona v Real Betis (1815)

Deportivo Coruna v Real Madrid (2015)

Barcelona open campaign v Real Betis

Barcelona start their Liga campaign at home to Real Betis, still reeling from their 5-1 defeat by Real Madrid in the Spanish Super Cup and facing a shortage in strikers after the departure of Neymar and a knee injury to Luis Suarez. SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect from 2015 GMT/4:15 PM ET, 400 words)

Ligue 1

Lille v Caen (1300)

Olympique Marseille v Angers SCO (1500)

Paris St Germain v Toulouse (1900)

Bundesliga

Freiburg v Eintracht Frankfurt (1330)

Borussia Moenchengladbach v Cologne (1600)

Chinese Super League

HONG KONG - Shandong Luneng take on Guangzhou R&F in the Chinese Super League as both clubs look to take a step closer to qualifying for next year’s Asian Champions League. (SOCCER-CHINA/, expect by 1600 GMT/1100 AM ET, 500 words)

RUGBY

‘Pinetree’ felled. All Blacks great Meads dies aged 81

WELLINGTON - Tributes flowed from politicians, former team mates and current players as New Zealand mourned the death of All Blacks great Colin Meads at the age of 81 following a battle with pancreatic cancer. (RUGBY-UNION-NZL/MEADS (UPDATE 3, PIX) moved with updates on merit, by Greg Stutchbury, 600 words) (we also moved RUGBY-UNION-NZL/MEADS (FACTBOX) and RUGBY-UNION-NZL/MEADS (NEWSMAKER))

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: Cincinnati Open (to 20)

Dimitrov faces unpredictable Kyrgios in final

Bulgarian seventh seed Grigor Dimitrov takes on talented Australian Nick Kyrgios in the final of the prestigious Masters 1000 event at the Lindner Family Tennis Center. (TENNIS-CINCINNATI/MEN, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

Halep and Muguruza meet in final

Romanian Simona Halep will assume the world number one ranking if she beats Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza in the final of the outdoor hardcourt event. (TENNIS-CINCINNATI/WOMEN, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Wyndham Championship (to 20) Greensboro, North Carolina

Stenson leads into final round

Swedish world number nine Henrik Stenson, at 16-under 194, takes a one-shot lead into the final round at Sedgefield Country Club, while 53-year-old Davis Love starts the day three back as he attempts to become the oldest winner in PGA Tour history.(GOLF-WYNDHAM/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA: Solheim Cup (to 20) West Des Moines, Iowa

U.S. carry five-point lead into final day of Solheim Cup

The United States are on the verge of retaining the Cup in the biennial event, enjoying an almost unassailable five-point lead heading into the 12 singles matches on the final day against a European side needing a miracle to overtake the hosts at Des Moines Country Club. (GOLF-WOMEN-SOLHEIM/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

CRICKET

Sri Lanka v India, first one-day international

Sri Lanka hope for better show in ODIs against India

DAMBULLA - Sri Lanka will hope the change in format can also bring about a reversal in their performance when they take on India in the first of the five-match one-day international series. India thumped the hosts 3-0 in the tests. (CRICKET-ODI-LKA-IND/ (PIX), expect by 1730 GMT/1:30 PM ET, 300 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta d‘Espana

Chris Froome will be eager to strengthen his bid to win the Vuelta a Espana for the first time as the riders head for the second stage, the 203.4-kilometre route from Nimes to Gruissan in southern France. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect from 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Red Sox and Yankees wrap up series

Right-hander Rick Porcello (7-14) is slated to start for the Boston Red Sox as they seek to extend their lead in the American League East in the final of a three-game series against the New York Yankees, who will counter with Sonny Gray in one of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0400 GMT/12 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 900 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Europe desk editor: Toby Davis)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below